Research Guides
Israel-Hamas War: News
Selected news sources
- New York TimesSee UW access for advanced search and archives; current UW students, faculty, and staff can also register for the New York Times digital edition.
- Washington PostSee UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Wall Street JournalSee UW access for advanced search and archives: current UW students, faculty, and staff can also register for direct, full access to WSJ.com.
- Christian Science MonitorSee UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Seattle TimesSee UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Al Jazeera - Israel-Palestine conflictQatar-based news.
- Daily StarLebanon-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Daily NewsEgypt-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Jordan TimesJordan-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)UK-based news.
- The GuardianUK-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- The TelegraphUK-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Der SpiegelGermany-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- EuronewsFrance-based news.
- Middle East EyeUK-based news.
- Jerusalem PostJerusalem-based news. See UW access for advanced search and archives.
- The Times of IsraelJerusalem-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Yedioth AhronothTel Aviv-based news. See UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Arutz ShevaWest Bank-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- +972 MagazineTel Aviv-based news.
- WAFA: Palestinian News AgencyNews agency of the Palestinian National Authority; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Ma'an News AgencyWire service in the Palestinian Territories; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Palestine News NetworkPalestine-based news; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- IMEMC NewsInternational Middle East Media Center, based in the Palestinian Territories.
- The Palestinian ChronicleU.S.-based news from Palestine; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Electronic IntifadaU.S.-based news featuring Palestinian perspectives; see UW access for advanced search and archives.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Accessing news
Many news websites have limited free access, but you may be able to access the content through UW Libraries' subscriptions. See note under each source for access links.
Click to Chat with a Librarian
Tools for evaluating news sources
- Savvy Info Consumers: News Sources
Tips and resources for critically evaluating news sources. - AllSides
Provides different versions of similar news stories to illustrate various perspectives; includes media bias ratings. - Snopes
Fact-checking source for online misinformation. - Ground News
Tools that provide context and transparency by highlighting bias, factuality, and ownership of media sources.