English Literature: The Medieval, Middle Ages, and Renaissance: Medieval & Middle Ages Websites

This Guide's purpose is to help researchers studying English literature from the Medieval, Middle Ages, and Renaissance time periods.

Medieval & Middle Ages Websites

The British Library Images Online
The Camelot Project: The Camelot Project is designed to make available a database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information.
CantApp: Digital resource for Geoffrey Chaucer's Canterbury Tales.
Corpus of Middle English Prose & Verse: This collection of about 300 Middle English primary texts was assembled over more than two decades in order to provide a publicly accessible, cross-searchable sampling of Middle English from a widely diverse range of genres, times, and places.
The Dictionary of Old English
Digital Index of Middle English Verse
Digital Scriptorium: Digital Scriptorium (DS) is a growing consortium of North American institutions with collections of global premodern manuscripts.
Global Medieval Sourcebook: The Global Medieval Sourcebook (GMS) offers a flexible online display for the parallel viewing of medieval texts in their original language and in new English translations, complemented by new introductory materials.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Linguistic Atlas of Late Medieval English
Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library: Digitized manuscripts from the Bodeian Library, which is the main research library at the University of Oxford.
The Medieval Academy of America: Medieval Digital Resources
Medieval and Early Modern Orients: Medieval and Early Modern Orients (MEMOs) is an AHRC-funded decolonial project that seeks to further knowledge and understanding of the early interactions between England and the Islamic Worlds.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Search the Collection
Middle English Compendium: The Middle English Compendium contains three Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
Middle English Dictionary: The world's largest searchable database of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500.
Middle English Texts Series: METS is a diverse, ever-growing collection of edited medieval texts.
The Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales: The Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales (OACCT) is a volume of introductory chapters for first-time, university-level readers of Geoffrey Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales.
Parker Library on the Web: A digital exhibit designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.
Piers Plowman Electronic Archive: The Piers Plowman Electronic Archive, a collaborative open-access project, presents the rich textual tradition of Piers Plowman, a fourteenth-century allegorical dream vision attributed to William Langland.
The Richard Coer de Lyon Multitext