English Literature: The Medieval, Middle Ages, and Renaissance: Articles

Why should I use A-Z Databases?

Because they connect you to 700+ databases. An incredible amount of mostly subscription resources that cover and cross many fields, disciplines, and histories.

Tip: 

Set a timer for fifteen minutes and scroll through as much of the A-Z list as you can. You’ll be amazed at what you find through serendipity.

Databases you might consult:

• Cambridge Histories Online
• Donmar Shakespeare Collection
• Early English Books Online (EEBO)
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
• Gale Literary Sources
• Gale Literature Resource Center
• Index of Medieval Art
• International Medieval Bibliography
• Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
• MLA International Bibliography
• Oxford Dictionary of National Bibliography
• Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
• ProQuest One Literature
• Royal Shakespeare Company Collection

Why should I use Research Guides?

Because they lead you through resources that librarian specialists at the UW have curated. They are not the first thing you see on the UW Libraries website, but they are the most useful.

Tip: 

For any research paper you’re working on, find at least two Research Guides to consult.

Research Guides you might consult:

• This one you're looking at!
• Art
• History: Europe
• History: Medieval

Why should I use Google Scholar?

Because it connects you to millions of articles that the UW Libraries pay for or that are in the open internet. Make sure to connect Google Scholar to the UW Libraries.

Tip: 

If you find an article in Google Scholar that you like, click the “Cited by” link to find other articles that cite the original one. This is an excellent way to find a scholarly conversation or debate.