Mary St. Germain: Publications & Presentations

Selected Publications

• Co-edited vol. 1 of Essays in Arabic literary biography, Wiesbaden : Harrassowitz Verlag, 2011.  Wrote the articles for Ibn al-Hajjaj, al-Sahib ibn ´Abbad and al-Tawhidi.

• "Tehran Odyssey: Buying & Shipping a Ton of Books From Iran,” Library Newsletter, June 2010.  http://www.washington.edu/alumni/partnerships/libraries/201006/index.html

• Tony Landreau Collection on Turkish Carpet Weaving and Village Life.  A searchable web accessible database of some 17,500 slides on carpet weaving and village life in Turkey, photographed during the 1970s.  The metadata and database structure are mine.  I created name authority and subject authority records for all villages, people, and monuments not in the Name or Subject Authority Files  https://content.lib.washington.edu/landreauweb/ 

•  “The Library of Alexandria in the Digital Age,” Library Directions, v. 18, no. 1, spring/summer 2008, p. 6.

• Walter B. Denny Islamic Art Photographs.  A searchable web accessible database of 3000 representative slides for teaching on the Middle East, photographed by Walter B. Denny, the leading historian of Islamic art.  The metadata and database structure are mine.  http://content.lib.washington.edu/diaweb/

• Middle Eastern Literatures and Their Times / Joyce Moss, ed.  Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2004. (Western Literatures in their times, v. 6).  Edited 42 articles of around 30 pages each for a volume on Middle Eastern literature in Gale’s series: World literature and its times.

• The Committee, by Sonallah Ibrahim; trans. by Mary St. Germain and Charlene Constable.  Syracuse University Press, 2001.  Reviewed in: Booklist; Library Journal; Publishers Weekly; SUP Catalog.  Received a positive review by Robert Irwin the New York Times Book Review section.

• Edited Works & Collections on the Middle East.  A searchable index to authors and titles of articles in monographs produced under editorial direction.  These articles were not otherwise indexed.  !998- 2003.  The effort ceased when tables of contents were commonly entered in OCLC.

• A Central Asian Odyssey: Renewing Connections,” Library Directions, v. 12, no. 2, winter 2002, p. 4-5.

Grants and Consulting

• Uzbekistan Educational Partnerships Program in Cultural and Comparative Religious Studies. The Dept. of Near Eastern Languages and Civilization applied for the above grant, and was awarded just under one million dollars from the U.S. Dept. of State.  I wrote the library portion on assessing the Biruni Institute of Oriental Studies’ manuscript repository.  One of the partners is the Biruni Institute of Oriental Studies, which houses the most significant manuscript repository in Central Asia.  The manuscripts are in Arabic, Persian and Turkic languages.  I spent Oct. 2003 assessing the needs of the manuscript repository.

• Internship supervisor for Sean Swanick, a Library School student from Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada.  May, 2008

• Internship supervisor for Alan Grosenheider, a Library School student from the iSchool, University of Washington, Seattle, WA.  Spring Quarter 1997

• Mar. 1995-Mar. 1996.  Served as a consultant to the Kyrgyz-American School under an IREX grant.  I traveled to Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan to evaluate and develop their library.  The following year I found a small online catalog program, their librarian came to the University of Washington for training, and then I went back to Bishkek to follow up.
• Funding of $4,865 from (MEMP) Middle East Materials Project at CRL to microfilm an estimated 16,122 pages of issues of a wide variety of newspapers from Central Asia not held in the United States.

• Allen Signature Award for three Cambridge Archive Editions databases:  Political Diaries of the Persian Gulf 1904-1965; Records of Iraq 1914-1955; Records of the Kurds: territory, revolt and nationalism, 1831-1979.  The Allen Signature award provided $16,099, and the Undergraduate Library , Bothell and Tacoma Libraries each provided $5,000.  Requested 2015/2016.

• Allen grant in the amount of $20,964, to assist with the purchase of the issues for 1924-1974 of the Egyptian pictorial journal al-Musawwar. 2007

• $15,839 in end of grant cycle DOE funding to purchase microfilm of 1920-1940 of the Egyptian newspaper al-Ahram.  2007