This research guide will help you search and select music repertoire and reference materials for your research as a member of the UW community. It aims to highlight marginalized composers and music in the UW collections, which are often underrepresented in modern music spaces.
Marginalized music includes music by Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC), non-Western cultures both in and out of the US, and materials by gender minorities and artists with disabilities.
Users can use this to identify music beyond the traditional canon and improve their knowledge of the diverse array of materials accessible to us here at the University of Washington. Viewers of this research guide can expect to find resources about:
- UW Music Library
- How to search the collection on the UW Libraries page
- External databases
- Tips on using the Library of Congress classification system
- UW Special Collections
- How to search through archival and book collections
- Instructions on how to use ArchivesWest, a finding aid repository, and the UW Libraries catalog to find Special Collections materials
- Examples of materials by and about marginalized composers at UW Special Collections
- UW Ethnomusicology (UWEA)
- How to search the UWEA collection in ArchivesWest
- Streaming sites that hold UWEA materials
- External resources provided by databases outside UW
- UW Digital Collections
- How to search through digitized materials at UW Libraries, including Special Collections, Ethnomusicology, and the Music Library
- Examples of digitized items from UW Special Collections, Ethnomusicology, and the Music Library by or about marginalized composers
- UW Tateuchi East Asia Library (UW TEAL)
- How to search through the UW Libraries catalog to find items at UW TEAL
- Examples of Korean, Chinese, and Japanese scores at UW TEAL