Research Guides
Health Sciences: Find Articles
Resources for research and study of health sciences.
Finding Articles on Health-Related Topics
Use databases to find citations to (and sometimes full text of) articles and other materials. Below are listed a few major databases that are good starting points for finding journal articles in many areas of health sciences. Each database indexes a different set of journals, so even though you may find many of the same citations in each database you may also find unique citations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
U.S. National Library of Medicine biomedical journal literature search system http://libguides.hsl.washington.edu/pubmed/ - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of the literature in nursing and 17 allied health fields.[UW restricted] - EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings - Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary databases covering journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references.
- Guide to Alternative AccessHaving trouble reading an article or book behind a paywall? Review this guide to alternative access and/or reach out for help via Ask Us!
Guides to Searching Health-Related Databases
Discover Additional Databases
Discover additional databases in health sciences: