Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Legal Research Guides
Before beginning a legal research project, read one of these basic introductions to the process.
WA State Administrative Law Research Guide
This is a guide to WA state administrative law. Administrative law consists of rules, regulations, decisions, and guidance documents issued by executive branch agencies, boards, commissions, departments, and offices. These agencies are generally created by statute.
WA State Constitutional Research Guide
This research guide provides a brief history of the Washington Constitution and the process by which it can be changed. It serves as a finding aid to the major publications and archival resources concerning the Washington Constitution, including secondary sources, Constitutional Convention documents, and proposed amendments.
Washington State Legislative History Guide
This is a guide to conducting WA state legislative history. "Legislative history" refers to the progress of a bill through the legislative process and to the documents that are created during that process. It is often used a means of understanding why the Legislature enacted a particular law or to aid in the interpretation of a law.
Free Sources of Washington State Law
This list links to free Internet sources for Washington State legal material. For additional sources, visit the Law Library's list of free Internet Legal Resources or the box below called UW Restricted Sources.
Contact the Gallagher Law Library reference librarians for help researching Washington State law.
Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
The Revised Code of Washington is a compilation and codification of all the permanent laws currently in force in the state of Washington. It is comprised of 91 titles arranged by topic. The online version of the RCW is updated twice a year (once in the early fall following the legislative session and again at the end of the year if any ballot measures that change the law is passed at the general election).
Washington Bills & Bll Status
Bills being considered by the Washington State Legislature can be searched (from 2009 - to date). There is a link to historical bill information from 1991 to 2008.
Washington Appellate Court Opinions
This is a searchable database of cases decided by the Washington Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals from 1854 - to date
Washington City & County Codes
This searchable database includes links to city codes, county codes, and official websites.
UW Restricted Sources
The legal portion of this database includes comprehensive, current legal information, including the Revised Code of Washington, Washington Constitution, Washington Supreme Court cases and Washington Court of Appeals cases. [UW restricted]
The legal portion of the database includes comprehensive, current legal information, including federal and state case law, statues, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials.