Skip to Main Content
Legal Research Guides
Comparing Federal & State Courts
This guide outlines the differences and similarities between the federal and state court systems.
Guide to the U.S. Legislative Process
This tutorial provides you with an explanation of the legislative process, tracking the various stages a bill goes through to become law.
Popular Names of Constitutional Clauses Guide
Many provisions of the U.S. Constitution are known by a popular name or nickname. This guide identifies many of these popular names and includes the text of the relevant provisions.
Federal Legislative History Guide
"Legislative history" refers to the progress of a bill through the legislative process and to the documents that are created during that process. It is often used a means of understanding why Congress enacted a particular law or to aid in the interpretation of a law.
U.S. Administrative Law Guide
This is a guide to administrative law, which is the body of law created by administrative agencies in the form of rules, regulations, procedures, orders, and decisions. Agencies are given the authority for these activities by laws enacted by Congress.
Free Sources of Federal Law
This list links to free Internet sources for U.S. legal material. For additional sources, visit the Law Library's guide for Members of the Public.
Contact the Gallagher Law Library Research Services librarians for help researching federal law.
United States Code
The U.S. Code (U.S.C.) is a compilation and codification of the general and permanent federal law of the United States. It is comprised of 50 titles arranged by subject. The U.S. Code is published every six years by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the House of Representatives.
Congressional Bills & Bill Status (Congress.gov)
This website allows you to access the full text of legislation from the 101st Congress (1989) to date. The Bill Summary & Status includes information from the 93rd Congress (1973 - 1974) to date.
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles arranged by subject. Each volume of the CFR is updated annually and is issued on a quarterly basis.
U.S. Court Opinions
Includes links to judicial opinions from both federal and state courts.
UW Restricted Sources
This is the major online resource for information regarding members of Congress and their legislative activities. It is also the primary source for accessing Congressional publications, including federal statutes, legislative history documentation, and federal agency regulations. Together, the "CIS Index" and "Historical Indexes" provide citations to hearings, committee reports, prints and House and Senate documents from 1798 - to date.
CQ.com This link opens in a new window
Includes bills, bill status, voting records, and other information from and about the U.S. Congress
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text federal statutes, cases, and administrative materials with KeyCite--a citator intended to connect related laws and secondary materials to give legal researchers the ability to fully understand the scope of the law in a given area.