Skip to main content
Dissertations: Electronic Resources
The following databases either index or provide full text to dissertations. If full text is not available, check the UW Libraries Search for library holdings. Those not listed in the catalog or available online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. [UW restricted]
MLA International Bibliography
Includes citations to dissertations on literature, language, film and folklore studies beginning in 1969. Provides better subject access than Dissertation Abstracts. Be sure to limit search to publication type "dissertation abstract." [UW restricted]
Research Works (UW)
More than 6600 dissertations produced at the University of Washington; full coverage from 1997-2008; sporadic coverage prior to 1997. [UW restricted]
Limit your search by the material type "Thesis/dissertation" in the advanced search screen. [UW restricted]
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 includes nearly 100,000 dissertations from 1933 through 1955. This print index was compiled annually by the H.W. Wilson Company for the National Research Council and The American Council of Learned Societies by the Association of Research Libraries. The content in American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 represents the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time.
Dissertations: Print Indexes
The following sources are all located in the Suzzallo/Allen Stacks unless otherwise noted:
- Index to Theses Accepted for Higher Degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland (1950-1985), Z5055.G69 I55 [UW restricted]
- Retrospective Index to Theses of Great Britain and Ireland, 1716-1950, Z5055.G69 R48
- Theses in English literature, 1894-1970, Z2011 .H58
- Theses in American literature, 1896-1971, Z1225 .H68
- Dissertations on Anglo-Irish Drama: a Bibliography of Studies, 1870-1970, Z2039.D7 M54
- Dissertations in English and American Literature: Theses Accepted by Austrian, French and Swiss Universities, 1875-1970, Z5055 A9 G2
- Critical Writings on Commonwealth Literatures: a Selective Bibliography to 1970, with a List of Theses and Dissertations, Z2000.9 .N48
- Canadian Literature: an Index to Theses Accepted by Canadian Universities, 1925-1980, PR9184.3 .G32 1984
- Theses on English-Canadian Literature: a Bibliography of Research Produced in Canada & Elsewhere from 1903 Forward [UW restricted];
- Southern Literary Culture: a Bibliography of Masters' and Doctors' Theses, Z1251.S7 C3 1979
- An Annotated Bibliography of North American Doctoral Dissertations on Old English Language and Literature, Z2012 .P85 1988
- Master's Theses in the Arts and Social Sciences (1976-1990), Z5055.U39 M32 (Baker Auxiliary Stacks - must request to access)