English: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

This guide recommends resources for research in English language studies, British and American literature, and other literatures written in English.

What are Reference Tools?

Reference tools provide background information on authors and their works, as well as lists of additional resources. The UW Libraries has many specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies devoted to British and American literature. Some are online (see items below); others are in print only. To locate print resources in Suzzallo Reference (1st floor), browse by call number: PR = British Literature; PS = American literature.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford English Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
The primary dictionary for the study of the English language.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
The JH Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 1,200 terms on drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as bibliographies of recommended reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms.

Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DARE "focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. It includes audio clips and quotations from the DARE Survey conducted 1965-1970, and an interactive map."

Oxford Dictionaries
- This link opens in a new window
"Smart-linked, fully searchable content from Oxford's largest modern English dictionaries and thesauruses ... comprehensive coverage of British, US, and World English - with audio pronunciations."
Year's Work in English Studies
- This link opens in a new window
The qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standard biographical dictionary for British people. Must be deceased to be included.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series, including 19 devoted to literature, language and theatre.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
33 online encyclopedias and dictionaries devoted to the study of literature.

Literary Research Guide
From the MLA, an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies.

Research Guides

Literary Research: Strategies & Sources
Each guide features research strategies and recommends the best tools for conducting specialized period and national literary research.
Handbook to Literary Research
(Delia da Sousa Correa and W.R. Owens): PN73 .H36 2010