Research Guides
History : Britain & Ireland: Home
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for British and Irish history.
Welcome!
Citation & Writing Help
Historians generally use the Chicago Style format. For more citation info see Citing Sources.
Schedule a writing center appointment.
Additional information on researching & writing.
Starting Points: Books & eBooks
See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.
- By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: easter rising women history
- By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "child abuse and moral reform".
- By Author - Type in the last name followed by the first name of the author in quotations. For example: "bailkin jordanna"
Starting Points: Journal Articles
The following research databases will help you identify articles on British & Irish history. Additional research databases are listed under Articles.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on modern world history (Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe & Latin America from 1450 onward) - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database for identifying articles & book chapters on all aspects of Medieval Europe, 300-1500
- Irish History OnlineDatabase to articles & books on Irish history
Starting Points - Primary Sources
This is a small sampling of primary sources dealing with Britain & Ireland. Additional sources are listed under the various Primary Sources sections of this guide.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Times of London 1785-2013
- This link opens in a new window
