Skip to Main Content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
University Libraries
My UW
Calendar
Maps
Directories
Toggle navigation
Home
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
E-Journals
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Evaluating Information
Learn how to choose the best and most reliable information that meets your research needs.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; tools for storing and organizing sources.
Course Reserves
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Research Guides
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Undergraduate Researcher Tutorial
Self-paced online tutorial that introduces students to research skills and UW Libraries resources and services.
more
on research
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Accessibility
We are committed to providing equal access to library collections, services, and facilities for all library users.
Interlibrary Loan & Scanning Services
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
more
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
FAQ
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Open Scholarship Commons
One-stop shop for knowledge creation and dissemination services.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info and tools for scholarly publishing and open-access publishing alternatives.
Subject Librarians
Talk to a librarian with expertise in your subject area for help with your research.
Teaching Support
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
more
help
About
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
Organization At-a-Glance
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Our Blog
News, views and impact stories from the UW Libraries.
Jobs
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Policies
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Strategic Plan
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
more
about the Libraries
Libraries
Art Library
Built Environments Library
Drama Library
Engineering Library
Foster Business Library
Friday Harbor Library
Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers
Health Sciences Library
Mathematics Research Library
Music Library
Odegaard Undergraduate Library
Research Commons
Special Collections
Suzzallo and Allen Libraries
Tateuchi East Asia Library
UW Bothell/Cascadia Library
UW Tacoma Library
Ask Us!
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Email
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Consultations
Make an appointment and get specialized help from a librarian.
more
ways to contact us
Research Guides
Home
Articles
Books
E-Journals
E-Newspapers
Images & Drawings
Pacific Coast Architecture Database
Web Sites
Writing on Urban Design and Planning
Research Topics
Toggle Dropdown
Bicycle Transportation
Government Organizations
Housing
Mass Transit
New Urbanism
Professional Development
Sprawl
Statistics
Urban Ecology & Sustainability
Home
Start Your Research
Research Guides
University of Washington Libraries
Library Guides
UW Libraries
Urban Design and Planning (UrDP)
Professional Development
Urban Design and Planning (UrDP): Professional Development
Subject Guide for Urban Design and Planning Students.
Professional Organizations: USA
National:
American Planning Association (APA)
The primary professional organization for planning professionals in the United States.
Planners Network (PN)
Pacific Northwest:
APA - Alaska
APA - Idaho
APA - Oregon
Washington:
APA - Washington
Professional Organizations: International
Cities Alliance (Cities without Slums)
Commonwealth Association of Planners (CAP)
Design Research Society (DRS)
Beroepsvereniging van Nederlandse Stedebouwkundigen en Planologen
Dutch Professional Organization of Urban Designers and Planners
Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP)
Congress for New Urbanism (CNU)
Council for European Urbansim (CEU)
Federation des Suisse Urbanistes (FSU)
Federation of Swiss Urban Planners
International Association of People Environments Studies (IAPS)
International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives (ICLEI)
International Society of City and Regional Planners (ISOCARP)
Irish Planning Institute (IPI)
New Zealand Planning Institute (NZPI)
Organisation des villes du patrimonie mondial (OVPM)
Organization of World Heritage Cities
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Planning Institute of Australia (PIA)
Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI)
British planning organisation
South African Planners
UN-Habitat Best Practices
Database in Improving the Urban Environment
UNESCO World Heritage
United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
United Nations Human Settlement Programme (UN-Habitat)
Government Jobs
Association of Washington Cities
HUD Student Interns Program
HUD Careers
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Jobs
Planning Jobs
American Planning Institute Jobs Online
Canadian Institute of Planners Job Resources
Cyburbia Job Links
Blog post with an extensive list of links
Indeed.com
Washington State Jobs
National Housing Institute Job Listings (NHI)
Planetizen Jobs
Simply Jobs.com Urban Planning Jobs
University of California Berkeley Career Center
Work gateways
Urban planning jobs in the UK
Planning School Associations
Asian Planning Schools Association
Asociación Latinoamericana de Escuelas de Urbanismo y Planeación (ALEUP)
Association of African Planning Schools (AAPS)
Association of Canadian University Planning Programs (ACUPP)
Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP)
The main association of academic planning programs in the U.S.
Association of European Collegiate Schools of Planning (AESOP)
Australian and New Zealand Association of Planning Schools
European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE)
Global Planning Education Association Network (GPEAN)
National Association of Urban and Regional Post-Graduate Programs (Brazil)
University Urban Studies Centers
Center for Collaborative Policy
Sacramento State University
cityLAB (UCLA)
Florida Center for Community Design + Research
University of South Florida
Institute for Urban Research and Development
Berkeley, CA
<<
Previous:
New Urbanism
Next:
Sprawl >>