Research Guides
Construction Management: Statistics & Costing
Subject Guide for Construction Management Students.
Construction Statistics
- United States Census Bureau - Construction & HousingConstruction and housing data cover subjects as varied as masonry and mortgages, gas heating and street construction, and noise pollution and trash collection. Federal, State, and local administrators use the data in determing housing policies, rent subsidies, and transportation and employment-related needs. The data help in designing lumber, water, and fuel policies and contribute to estimates of the gross domestic product (GDP)
- Engineering News Record (ENR) - EconomicsENR publishes both a Construction Cost Index and Building Cost index that are widely used in the construction industry. This website contains an explanation of the indexes methodology and a complete history of the 20-city national average for the CCI and BCI. Both indexes have a materials and labor component. In the second issue of each month ENR publishes the CCI, BCI, materials index, skilled labor index and common labor index for 20 cities and the national average. The first issue also contains an index review of all five national indexes for the latest 14 month period.
Construction Costing
RSMeans Estimating Handbook by
This comprehensive reference covers the full spectrum of technical data required to estimate costs for major construction projects. Widely used in the industry for tasks ranging from routine estimates to special cost analysis projects, the book has been completely updated and reorganized with new and expanded technical information. RSMeans Estimating Handbook will help construction professionals: Evaluate architectural plans and specifications Prepare accurate quantity takeoffs Compare design alternatives and costs Perform value engineering Double-check estimates and quotes Estimate change orders FEATURES: This new edition includes expanded coverage of: Construction specialties-green building, metal decking, plastic pipe, demolition items, and more Preliminary or square foot estimating tools Updated city cost indexes to adjust costs-by trade-for 30 major cities Historic indexes to factor costs for economic effects over time Complete reorganization to the newest CSI MasterFormat classification system
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780876292730Publication Date: 2009-08-28
Construction Technology by
Construction Technology is designed to serve as a textbook for undergraduate and postgraduate students of construction engineering and civil engineering.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195694833Publication Date: 2008-10-15
Construction Field Guide by
This ready-reference field guide puts every aspect of the construction industry right at your fingertips. It is completely up to date, and its scope of coverage is truly encyclopedic. In a clear, straightforward manner, it explains what's required in contracts and documents, building codes and inspections, labor relations and safety programs, financing and insurance, planning and scheduling, quality control and project management and much, much more. Although Construction Field Guide was originally developed for the general contractor, this new Third Edition has been supplemented to be an invaluable reference for the subcontractor, owner, architect, inspector, property manager, construction attorney and anyone else in the industry. Whether you are dealing with dispute resolution or cost estimating, this book tells you what you need to know, what to do, and how to get it done. Moreover, the Construction Field Guide includes an incredibly detailed description of all construction materials and methods, from site exploration and soil testing, to concrete construction, rough carpentry, lathing and plastering, roofing, painting, glass and glazing, wiring, plumbing, insulation and more. For each topic you'll find a clear description of the materials used, preparation methods, capacities, measurements, and even estimating techniques and considerations.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781557016461Publication Date: 2009
