Research Guides
History : Labor: Encyclopedias
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for labor history.
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Three online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks, Oxford Reference Online & Oxford Research Encyclopedias.
Quick Info: Encyclopedias
- 100 Most Important American Financial Crises: An Encyclopedia of the Lowest Points in American Economic History
This link opens in a new window
- American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- American Middle Class : An Economic Encyclopedia of Progress and Poverty
- This link opens in a new window
- Bulls, bears, boom, and bust: a historical encyclopedia of American business concepts
- This link opens in a new window
- Elgar Encyclopedia of Financial Crises
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of African American Business
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of American Recessions and Depressions
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of strikes in American history
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of organized labor
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford encyclopedia of economic history
- This link opens in a new window
- St. James encyclopedia of labor history worldwide
- This link opens in a new window
- Workers in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Working Americans, 1880-1999
- This link opens in a new window
In-Depth Info: Handbooks & Companions
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- Ashgate Companion to the History of Textile Workers, 1650-2000
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companion to the Ancient Greek Economy
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Ancient Afro-Eurasian Economies
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook on Class and Social Stratification in China
- This link opens in a new window
- Minimum Wage: A Reference Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of American Economic History Volume 1
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of American Economic History Volume 2
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Business History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Commodity History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Historical Political Economy
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Italian Economy Since Unification
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Law of Work
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Russian Economy
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Major Events in Economic History
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Modern Economic History
- This link opens in a new window