Genealogy & Family History: Family History by Culture

Genealogy wiki by FamilySearch that includes guides, resources and records organized by state, type, and topic.

Database of African names at the time of enslavement, prior to leaving through the Middle Passage.

Collections from the US Freedmen's Bureau including land, labor and marriage records. Requires a free Ancestry.com account.

Database including records from the Freedmen's Bureau archives, land, labor and marriage records and murder reports.

Indexed genealogies of the descendants of the 272 Slaves sold by Georgetown University in 1838.

Searchable collection of digitized Information Wanted ads from post-Civil War newspapers for formerly enslaved families to reconnect.

Index of resources for finding enslaved ancestors, both through those enslaved and those who were slave owners, updated by members of the WikiTree community.

Collection of databases documenting the enslavement of Africans during the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade and Intra-American Slave Trade including map, ship, captain, voyage dates and ship route data.

Ancestral tracing guide for Chinese-American genealogy created by Family History Daily.

Densho is a digital archive of written, oral, and historical collections that document the unjust incarceration of Japanese-Americans during WWII.

Digital access to the collections of the Filipinas Heritage Library, including records on WWII, Indigenous peoples, and culture.

Free recorded webinar series on Japanese American genealogy led by Densho.org.

Collections and publications centered around the history of Korean-American immigration.

Compilation of stories, art, and media discussing Cambodian genealogy published by the Cambodian American Literary Arts Association.

Digital access to the collections held by the Wing Luke Museum.

Records, books, manuscripts and more pertaining to Latin American history in Mexico, Central and South America.

Index of genealogical resources and databases for every Caribbean island.

Digital library of records relating to Caribbean genealogy, especially in the Virgin Islands.

Index of genealogical resources in Colombia curated by FamilySearch.

Index on Central and South American genealogical resources.

Collection of resources to aid genealogical research in Latin America and the Caribbean, including links to guides in Mexico, Argentina, Peru, and Chile.

Index of Native American genealogical resources, articles, and guides.

The Dawes Rolls (also known as "The Final Rolls) are records of tribal enrollment for the Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek, Seminole and Chickasaw tribes between the dates of 1898 and 1914 by the Dawes Commission.

Guide created by the Bureau of Indian Affairs helping users trace their history, dispel myths about Native American ancestry, and provides directions on enrolling in federally recognized tribes.

Genealogy wiki for Indigenous American family history including guides, resources and records organized by state, type, and reservation.

Collections spanning 5000 years of Jewish History.

Guide for getting started with the basics of Jewish genealogy.

FamilySearch's wiki for resources, records and sources related to Jewish genealogy.

Digital archive of records and documents pertaining to Jewish ancestry.

Collection of guides, databases, records and historical information regarding Sephardic Jewish heritage and genealogical research.

Collections from the World Holocaust Memorial Center.

Index on genealogical resources for Spain and Basque communities.

Wiki operated off of FamilySearch that includes information and genealogical resources for ancestry in the British Isles, Central Europe, Eastern Europe, Scandinavia, and the Mediterranean.

Records and documents within the Ireland National Archives for genealogical research.

Index of resources for Italian genealogy in both American and Italian documents.

Collection of records documenting German migration into Russia.

Family history collection stored by the UK National Archives.

Index of genealogical resources and records for the island of Guam.

Index of resources to genealogical documents in Fiji.

Introductory guide to Hawaiian genealogy created by the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa Library.

Database of cultural, historical, and genealogical records and documents run by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs.

Records from the island of Samoa accessible through Ancestry.com. Requires a free Ancestry account.

Index of genealogical records in Hawaii from 1925-1930.