HIE 430: Environmental Research Methodology - Autumn 2015: Map Resources

Print Maps

Located in the Map Collection, Suzzallo Library, on the ground floor

The University of Washington Libraries Map Collection is the premier cartographic collection in Washington State, with over 267,000 map sheets, 80,000 aerial photographs, and 2,000 atlases. The collection includes the following types of maps: base and outline, geologic, historic, road, topographic, demographic, environmental, hydrologic, property, seismologic, soil, urban planning, and nautical and aeronautical charts. We also collect electronic mapping products and digital geospatial data for use with GIS software.

Approximately 80% of the Map Collection is listed in the UW Libraries Catalog, so it is best to start your search for maps here.  

Separate keywords with and unless they are part of the same phrase. The following are some examples of useful keywords:
pike place market
international district AND Seattle
central district AND Seattle

Aerial Photography

Located in the Map Collection, Suzzallo Library, on the ground floor, behind the Help Desk

Aerial photography is a series of photographic images of the ground, taken at regular intervals from an airborne craft such as an airplane. Most aerial photographs are 9" x 9" prints. Most photo enlargements are approximately 16" x 20" (for greater detail).  Aerial photography coverage is only for selected areas in Washington State, with an emphasis on the Puget Sound region, in a variety of scales, from 1944 to the present. Use the online finding aid to determine if we have photos of your area: Aerial Photo Finder.