Research Guides
Children's Literature: Book Reviews
Guide to beginning research in children's and young adult literature
Searching for Book Reviews
The following databases are good places to search for book reviews of children's and YA books published in both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Starting Points: Book Reviews
- CLCD Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Information about pre K-12 books/media (including reviews), authors, and illustrators from around the world.
More Databases for Current Children's and YA Book Reviews
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews from Booklist, Horn Book, School Library Journal, Publishers' Weekly, and Kirkus, among others.
To limit to reviews, select book review (or entertainment review) from the Document Type pulldown list. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews from Booklist, Canadian Children's Book News, Horn Book, Kirkus, Library Media Connection, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal.
To limit to reviews, check the box next to "Reviews and News" in the Content Type checklist. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews from Bookbird, The Bulletin for the Center for Children's Books, Children's Literature, the Children's Literature Association Quarterly, and The Lion and The Unicorn. - Library and Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews from VOYA: Voice of Youth Advocates, Horn Book, School Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly.
To limit to reviews, select book review (or sound recording review, video recording review, or film review) from the Document Type pulldown list.
Resources for Locating Older Book Reviews
- American Humanities Index1975-present. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - AI3 .A487
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-present
- Book Review Digest1905-present. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z1219 .B65
- Book Review Index1965-present. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z1035.A1 B6
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals1802-1974. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z6265 .C65 1982
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals1886-1974. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z1035.A1 C64
- Horn Book Index1924-1989. Suzzallo-Allen Stacks - Z1037.A1 D39 1990
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1907-1984
- Index to Book Reviews in England1749-1774. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z1035.A1 F67 1990
1774-1800. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Refernece - Z1035.A1 F675 1997 - Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities1960-1990. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z1035.A1 I63
- Index to Literature in the New Yorker (4 vols.)1925-1975. Suzzallo-Allen Stacks - AP2 .N6764
- Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789-1797: A Bibliography1789-1797. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z2013 .W36 1979a
- National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index1905-1974. Suzzallo-Allen 1st floor Reference - Z1035.A1 N35 1975
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1890-1982
- Times Literary Supplement Index1902-1980. Suzzallo-Allen Stacks - AP4 .T15 index 1902-1939
Reviews in the News
- New York Times Book Review
- This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1/19/1997 to present; indexing available for earlier years. Includes quarterly children's book review section.
NoveList Plus
- Link to NoveList Plus at Seattle Public Library[Requires SPL library card]
NoveList Plus is a readers advisory database of fiction and nonfiction for adults, teens and children, offering enhanced subject access and full-text reviews, Author Read-alikes, awards, theme-oriented book lists, Book Discussion Guides, Book Talks, and Feature Articles for a wide range of reading interests.
NoveList Plus is available to UW students through the Seattle Public Library by using an SPL library barcode and PIN number (all UW students are eligible for SPL library cards). 