Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Searching for Articles
Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to
and other materials. The following databases are good places to search
for articles about children's literature published in both scholarly journals and
popular magazines. Some databases also include references to other
such as books, book chapters, and dissertations.
For additional databases in related disciplines such as English literature or Comparative literature, see Articles & Research Databases.
Starting points for Children's Literature research
More Databases for Children's Literature Research
Gale Literature Resource Center
Full text literary biographies, journal articles, critical essays, and an encyclopedia of literary terms.
Gale Literature Criticism
This database Includes full-text excerpts from the best criticism on major literary figures and nonfiction writers of all periods. Includes the Children's Literature Review.
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 192 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Includes some articles about children's literature.
Indexes some literary criticism and education journals and some of the Children's/Young Adult review periodicals.
Journal articles in the field of education; despite its name, the database is not entirely fulltext.
Library & Information Science Abstracts
Indexes articles from library and information science journals, with an emphasis on journals published in the United Kingdom and countries other than the United States. Covers 1969 to the present.
Library and Information Science Source
Covers more than 200 library and information-science journals, and more than 600 books per year, from December 1984 to the present. Emphasis is on journals published in the United States.
Covers academic journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations in sociology, including the social function of books for children.
Children's Lit e-Journals