AIS 475 Northwest Native Peoples and the Flora of the Pacific Northwest: Find Articles & E-Journals
Instructor Cynthia Updegrave
Database searching tips
Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects. Listed in the boxes below are some selected database starting points for finding articles on topics in Native Americans.
AND returns results with both terms: Native Americans AND ethnobotany
University of Washington AND environmental impact
OR returns results with either term: American Indians OR Native Americans OR First Nations Good for use with related terms or synonyms
Placing terms in parentheses ( ) indicates separate concepts, like an equation, (A or B) and C genocide AND ( American Indians OR Native Americans OR First Nations )
Placing two or more words in quotation marks " " returns results using that specific phrase "First Nations"
Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending genocid* [finds genocide, genocides, genocidal ...]
Note: some databases use different truncation symbols (* is most common; others include !, $,
A collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, the Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium. A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants
[UW restricted], databases with this icon are accessible remotely by UWNetID only.
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences. [UW restricted] The citations describe journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents.
A combined searching tool to three bibliographic databases: KR, Kew record of taxonomic literature, PMBD, Plant micromorphological bibliographic database, and EBBD, Economic botany bibliographic database
The standard reference work for plant taxonomic literature from Linnean times to 1940. In this online edition you can browse the volumes and supplements of TL-2, and the original work is enhanced by the addition of various search options, including full text searching. [UW restricted]
Covers journal literature in all sciences; includes arts & humaities and social sciences. [UW restricted] Some links to full-text articles
No Online Article Available
If the full-text of an article is not available directly in a database such as America: History and Life, then click on the purple Check for UW holdings button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need. If there is no button, then search the UW Libraries Catalog for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy.
How do I find out if the article I need is online?
Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video
(opens a new window)
How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?
Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video
(opens a new window)
How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?
Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video