Research Guides
Atmospheric Sciences Graduate Students: Prepare
Information, tools, and resources specifically for Atmospheric Sciences graduate students.
Consider this before you write to publish
Is the topic original?
Conduct a literature review to see if someone has already published about this topic. Search UW Libraries Article & Research Databases, 
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Google Scholar, Web of Science, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management and more. See the Research tab of this guide for more suggestions.
Avoid Plagiarism
If you quote or summarize another author's words, provide attribution. Always cite the original work using quotation marks and the appropriate citation style (APA, Chicago, MLA).
Will you need to use another author(s) work(s)?
Including material (song lyrics, audio, video, etc.) by other authors is acceptable, but you must avoid copyright infringement. ProQuest, the leader in providing access to your dissertations, warns that "Republishing someone else's work, even in abbreviated form, requires permission from the author or copyright owner." For more details, see ProQuest's Copyright Guide.
Also from ProQuest, Dr. Kenneth D. Crews, Director of Columbia's Copyright Advisory Office, provides free access to his manual, Copyright and Your Dissertation or Thesis: Ownership, Fair Use, and Your Rights and Responsibilities. For more info, see Submitting your dissertation or thesis to ProQuest.
Maintain control over your published works
Be aware of your rights as an author and maintain your copyright. Read more about scholarly publishing and open access issues at UW...
How will your thesis or dissertation be published?
By the end of this academic year, theses and dissertations submitted at the University of Washington will be published online through Research Works, our digital repository. You may ask that this be delayed for up to two years. Your dissertation will be included in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database so that others can find your work. You may give permission for ProQuest to sell copies of your dissertation as well. For more information, see ProQuest's Submitting your dissertation or thesis to ProQuest.
Scholarly Publishing in Atmospheric Sciences
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Resource subscribed to by the Libraries which allows you to evaluate and compare journals by various metrics including Impact Factor and Eigenfactor. For more information about Impact Factor, check out this Wikipedia article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impact_factor
- Scholar's Copyright AddendumOnline tool created by Science Commons and the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) to simply create an author addendum to be attached to a publisher's copyright agreement to retain some of your copyrights.
- SHERPA/RoMEOA searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self-archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories.
- UW Libraries Research WorksUW Libraries repository and open access publishing service. Provides tools to archive and/or publish data sets, monographs images, journal articles, technical reports and more.
Publishing your thesis or dissertation
How will your thesis or dissertation be published?
By the end of this academic year, theses and dissertations submitted at the University of Washington will be published online through Research Works, our digital repository. You may ask that this be delayed for up to two years. Your dissertation will be included in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database so that others can find your work. You may give permission for ProQuest to sell copies of your dissertation as well. For more information, see ProQuest's Submitting your dissertation or thesis to ProQuest.