Skip to main content
Research Guides

Atmospheric Sciences Graduate Students: Research

Information, tools, and resources specifically for Atmospheric Sciences graduate students.

Get Stuff

The following free services help you tap into materials throughout the University of Washington Libraries and beyond:

Summit Libraries

We're part of a large network of academic libraries in Washington State and Oregon that shares collections.  When you search in UW WorldCat, you'll identify materials in these other libraries, and then request them with the click of a button. Delivery usually takes about 3-5 days.  Read more ...

Interlibrary Loan

When you identify materials that aren't available here or in our Summit network, you can request them through our Interlibrary Loan service.  Most articles are delivered electronically within a couple of days; books may take 1-2 weeks. Start here to create your account for this free service.

Desktop Article Delivery

Never photocopy another journal article again. When you identify articles in journals that we only have in hard copy at UW Libraries, place your request for them online, and we'll pull it from the shelf, scan the article, and deposit it in your Interlibrary Loan account.  Usually takes about one working day.  Read more ...

Suggest a Puchase

Suggest that materials be added to the collection.  Budgets are tight, but I'll do my best to purchase the books and media that you need to for your research and teaching.  Note: subscribing to journals is a bit more challenging, but it never hurts to ask!  Contact me or use the Libraries online form.  

Starting points for your research

 

 

Atmospheric Sciences Research Guide

Your gateway to UW Libraries online and physical materials (books, journal articles, data, images, etc.) in Atmospheric Sciences and related disciplines. 

UW-Only Catalog

The UW Libraries Catalog (UW-Only Catalog) is your gateway to the online, print, and media materials in the UW Libraries.  Use the 'Request/Place hold' button to have a book pulled from the shelves and sent to the library of your choice.  You can also save and email your results.  

UW WorldCat

UW WorldCat searches the UW-Only Catalog, UW Law Library, academic, and public libraries around the world.  Use it to find find books, articles, media, and more. Use the Request button to borrow materials from these libraries.  It also allows you to save and email your results, and share them using social bookmarking tools.

  • UW Libraries Mobile
    mobile catalog search interface optimized for iPhone and Android mobile devices. Also embedded within m.UW.

Article Databases & Ejournals

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects including physical sciences, environmental science, and general science.

ResearchWorks

Check here if you're looking for services to support your research such as data & geospatial services, digital data & publication storage and hosting.

E-newspapers

Check here if you're looking for news stories.  Find a specific e-newspaper or use a research database to search across news sources aired and published around the world.

Subject guides

Looking for research tools in other subjects and disciplines?  Visit these pages for other key starting points.  Some possible relevant guides:  Atmospheric Sciences, ChemistryEarth & Space SciencesEnvironmental Sciences, Oceanography, and Physics.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
find journal articles, conference papers, theses & dissertations, academic websites and more in all subjects.  Be sure to check your Google Scholar preferences.  Make sure "University of Washington Libraries - Check for Full-Text @ UW" is checked under "Library Links." 

For more information about searching Google Scholar to find UW materials, access the How Do I Connect Google Scholar with UW Libraries guide.

How do I find the article if it's not in the database?

The UW Libraries subscribes to many databases because they cover different sets of journals and publications.  The publishers decide which databases may include the full text of their articles.  If a database does not provide the full text of the article that you need, select a button: 

 or 

These buttons will search to see if the Libraries has the article online and, if we don't, see if the journal is available in print.