Research Guides
Biological sciences - sources for library research: Find Articles
Just zoology
This resource is exclusively for zoology:
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
Just botany
These resources are exclusively for botany:
- IPNI: International Plant Names IndexA collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, the Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium. A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants
- Kew Bibliographic DatabasesA combined searching tool to three bibliographic databases: Kew record of taxonomic literature (1971-2007), Plant micromorphology (1930's-present) and Economic botany (late 19th century-2003).
- Taxonomic Literature (TL2)The standard reference work for plant taxonomic literature from Linnean times to 1940. In this online edition you can browse the volumes and supplements of TL-2, and the original work is enhanced by the addition of various search options, including full text searching.
[UW restricted]
Starting Points
Both of these databases are good places to start searching, especially if you only need a few good articles:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journal literature in all sciences from 1900 to present; includes arts & humaities and social sciences. [UW restricted] - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
[UW restricted] Find full-text articles
Beyond the surface
These databases provide more complete coverage of biological journals. Additional resources exclusive to botany and zoology are listed in the side column.
- AgricolaServes as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The database covers materials encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- CAB DirectProvides access to citations and abstracts of the international agricultural literature, including plant protection, forestry engineering, animal husbandry, animal and plant breeding, genetics, veterinary medicine, nutrition, rural development, economics, and leisure and tourism. CAB Abstracts indexes articles, books, conference proceedings and reports. [UW restricted]
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 20 million citations from life science journals back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Who has cited this article?
"The power of citation searching lies in the capacity to take a seminal article and uncover who the author was influenced by (who was cited) and go forward in time to discover how that seminal research affected newer works (who is citing it)."*
Use the Citation Searching tab on this page to see how it works.
*Tenopir, C. (January 01, 2001). INFOTECH - Online Databases - The Power of Citation Searching. Library Journal, 126, 18, 39.