Research in Bibliography, Textual Studies & Book History: Selected Bibliography

A New Introduction to Bibliography (Gaskell, 1972)

Textual Scholarship: An Introduction (Greetham, 1992)

Scholarly Editing: A Guide to Research (Greetham, 1995)

• Early Modern Online Bibliography
• Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (Harner, 2008)
• An Introduction to Bibliographical & Textual Studies (Williams & Abbott, 1999)
• Textual Scholarship: An Introduction (Greetham, 1992)
• Theories of the Text (Greetham, 1999)
• Scholarly Editing: A Guide to Research (Greetham, 1995)
• Textual Criticism & Scholarly Editing (Tanselle, 1990)
• Textual Criticism Since Greg: A Chronicle, 1950-1985 (Tanselle, 1987)
• A Rationale of Textual Criticism (Tanselle, 1989)
• Introduction to Bibliography: Seminar Syllabus (Tanselle, 19th Revision, 2002)
• Bibliography & The Sociology of Texts (McKenzie, 1999)
• A New Introduction to Bibliography (Gaskell, 1972)
• Book History Reader (Finkelstein & McCleery, 2002)
• Elements of Bibliography (Harmon, 1998)
• British Bibliography & Textual Criticism (Howard-Hill, 1979)
• Book Jackets: Their History, Forms, and Use (Tanselle, 2011)
• A Bibliographical Companion (Stokes, 1989)
• A Guide to the Study of United States Imprints (Tansell, 1971)
• A History of Printing in Britain (Clair, 1966)

Book-length bibliographies on individual authors often provide descriptive information about editions and printings of texts. To locate a bibliography, perform a keyword or subject search on your author and include the term “bibliography." Also, if you are interested in browsing the stacks or the reference collection for books on bibliography or other bibliographies, see the LC Classification for Z: http://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/lcco/lcco_z.pdf

• Catalogue of books in the library of the British museum printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and of books in English printed abroad, to the year 1640 ...British Museum (1884)
• Short-title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad 1475-1640. Pollard & Redgrave (1926) - STC
• STC, Second edition. Revised by Jackson, Ferguson, and Pantzer (1986)
• Donald Wing.  Short Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales & British America and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700.