HSTRY 498: Civil Rights & Labor Movements in the Pacific Northwest: Primary: Newspapers & Magazines

Digitized Newspapers

In addition to searching or browsing these digitized newspapers, you may also want to use the Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index to identify relevant articles. Keep in mind the online version of the index is partial; the complete index is available as a card catalog in Special Collections. If you are working on a maritime related issue, also check the Maritime Labor in the Pacific Northwest: A Bibliography of Published and Unpublished Sources, 1850 – 2012 for citations to Seattle area newspapers.

Major Newspaper Collections:

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current local, national & international news coverage primarily from the 1990s onward. However also includes historic coverage of the Seattle Times (1895-), Seattle Post-Intelligencer (1901-), Tacoma News Tribune (1889-) & Oregonian (1860-).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of major US [NY Times (1851-2020), LA Times (1881-2015), Washington Post (1877-2008)]; African American [New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), LA Sentinel (1934-2010)] and international newspapers.

Washington Digital Newspapers
Digitized 19th and early to mid-20th century papers Includes The Enterprise (1927-1952), Filipino Forum (1928-1930, 1942-1969), Seattle Star (1899-1925), Seattle Union Record (1918-1922) & more

To find additional newspapers on microfilm use the Microforms & Newspapers Collection Database or use this model in UW Libraries Search: town newspapers. For example: bothell newspapers. Digitized issues of some newspapers are available on the Labor Press Project.

Microfilm scanners are available to use in Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers (GMM) located on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library.

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Strengths

Newspapers focus more on local or national issues and events rather than foreign countries. Magazines tend to be more national in scope -- news magazines (such as Time) and politically oriented magazines (such as The New Republic) cover everything from politics to wars while specialized magazines provide insight into cultural issues and material culture and cover sports, entertainment, fashion and more
Commentary, cartoons and letters to the editor provide public opinion information
Photographs and other graphics
Advertising included in magazines are useful primary sources especially for the study of consumerism, gender roles, material culture, history of technology, and popular culture. Display and classified newspaper advertisements provide Information about local prices, rents, jobs, etc.

Keep in mind

Newspapers & magazines usually do not provide in-depth analysis nor do they provide scholarly context for an issue. They really do focus on the who, what, where and when rather than the why of an issue or event.