Collection Guidelines: Economics: Scope & Location

• Suzzallo and Allen Libraries are the major locations for the economics collection in print.
• Electronic resources may be found on the Economics Research Guide.
• There are some duplicate and related titles in the Foster Business Library, Odegaard Undergraduate Library, Bothell and Tacoma libraries. Various libraries collect selectively in their discipline/language focus.
• Government Publications holds many US and international government documents.
  
• Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies may be located in the Reference Section in Suzzallo Library.

Photo: Suzzallo Reading Room courtesy of Curtis Cronn

a. Chronological

The collection of economic history material covers all periods but falls mainly into the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Other material focuses predominantly on contemporary economic conditions.

b. Geographical

All parts of the world are represented in the collection, but greatest emphasis is given to the United States, Europe, Pacific rim countries, and Canada.

c. Language

Due to budget restrictions, little to no materials in languages other than English are purchased.

d. Format

The collection includes print and electronic monographs, serials, conference proceedings, dissertations, microforms, and government publications.

e. Exclusions

Textbooks, workbooks, and reprints of material already in the collection are generally not collected. Material of a purely popular nature will be collected very selectively.