Collection Guidelines: South Asian Studies: Scope & Location

South Asian Studies collection:

• Suzzallo & Allen Libraries are the major location for the communication collection in print.
• Electronic resources may be found on the Communication Research Guide. 
• Newspapers and microforms are in the Microforms & Newspapers Collection. 
• Video and audio sources are located in the Media Center. 
• Encyclopedias and other reference books are located in the Reference Section in Suzzallo Library.
• Some subject relevant materials are also found at  Odegaard Undergraduate Library, UW Bothell, UW Tacoma, Art Library, Built Environement Library and Drama Library.
•  Rare materials such as manuscripts, travelogues, historical census may also be found in the Special Collections. 
• Local, state, federal, and international documents may be found in Government Publications. 
• Limited materials related to South Asian law can be found at  Gallagher Law Library .

Scope

[Include the categories below on both Staffweb and LibGuide.  LibGuide categories should be brief.  Use Staffweb to describe in more detail for internal audience.  This is where Subject Librarians can leave collection notes about collecting guidelines, focus, etc.]

Chronological

• Primary Emphasis : Materials covering Indus Valley Civilization  era (3300 to 1300 BCE) to the present.
• Department of South Asian Studies:Research emphasis is on the late modern era (19th-21st centuries); teaching also includes Vediic period, through to Moghul Empire, British rule and Independent South Asian countries.
• Political Science and International Studies: Interest in materials on 20th and 21st centuries
• History:  Emphasis on cultural history of early modern South Asia, 1500-1800 including History of Medieval and Mughal India, to classes in Environmental History.
• Religion:  Emphasis on on Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikkhism and Islam.

Geographical

• Primary Emphasis   India and  Pakistan
• Secondary Emphasis: Sri Lanka,  Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan and Nepal.
• Out of scope: Maldives

Language

• Primary Emphasis is on materials in English, Hindi, Urdu, Bengali, Sanskrit and Prakrit.
• Secondary Emphasis :  All other  South Asian Languages such as Kannada, Tamil, Telugu, Odiya etc. are represented.
• Tertiary Emphasis :   European and other Asian languages also included as appropriate.

Format

• Books, periodicals, manuscripts, media (primarily DVDs, CDs and audio recordings), microforms (for some antiquarian material and archival collections), maps.

Exclusions

Do not buy:

• Textbooks , Sciences., Law, Medicine