Nursing & Health: Statistics
Guide to resources for UW Tacoma Nursing & Health students
Databases
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Maps and reports based on U.S. Census and other data sources, 1790 to present. - ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
- This link opens in a new window
- Europa World This link opens in a new window Political, social and economic information about countries and world regions.
- This link opens in a new window
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window Create maps and tables of demographic, business, and marketing variables. (Formerly known as SimplyMap.)
- This link opens in a new window
National
- American FactFinder Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics The Bureau collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
- CDC: Data & Statistics Statistics on topics of public health importance including vital statistics, surveys, and topic data. Topic data includes prevalence, state statistics, cost, racial/ethnic differences, and chronic disease indicators.
- Current Population Survey Monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes data on Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care Documents variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States based on Medicare data. Organized by region, hospital and topic. Includes reports spending, disparities, hospitals, and care.
- Dept. of Health & Human Services Gateway to Data & Statistics Brings together key federal health and human services related data and statistics.
- Health Statistics - National Library of Medicine Includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources.
- Kaiser Family Foundation Provides data for all 50 states on over 500 health, health care, and health policy topics.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report The CDC's primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.
- National Center for Health Statistics Include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, use of health care, and health insurance coverage.
- National Institute of Mental Health Extensive collection of statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Equally important are sections that have been included on mental health-related disability and on suicide.
- Pew Research Center Conducts regular monthly polls on politics and major policy issues as well as the News Interest Index, a weekly survey aimed at gauging the public's interest in and reaction to major news events.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States The Social Insurance and Human Services section includes data related to governmental expenditures for social insurance and human services including Old-age, survivors, disability, and health insurance (OASDHI); Temporary Assistance For Needy Families (TANF); Federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP); and Head Start. Also covers governmental employee retirement, private pension plans, government unemployment and temporary disability insurance, Social Security, child welfare services and more.
- Uniform Crime Reports Annual publications include Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.
Live Statistics
- USA Right Now View live statistics on population, economy, society, media and entertainment, health, and energy. Click on the info link next to an item to view the source of information.
- Worldometers View live statistics on population, government & economics, society and media, environment, food, water, energy, and health. Click on the info link next to an item to see the source of information.
State & Local
- Access WashingtonMain portal for Washington State information.
- Commonwealth Fund State Scorecard View state-specific rankings and results compared to benchmarks for Access, Prevention & Treatment, Avoidable Hospital Use & Costs and Healthy Lives. Equity indicators are provided for income, insurance coverage, and race/ethnicity.
- Communities Count: Social & Health Indicators Across King County Every three years, Communities Count reports on 38 social, economic, health, environmental and cultural indicators.
- Kaiser State Health Facts Provides data for all 50 states on over 500 health, health care, and health policy topics. Browse by State or Category. Includes Individual State Profiles and State Comparisons.
- Public Health - Seattle & King County Covers a broad range of health topics that are the foundation for healthy living.
- Seattle Crime StatisticsIncludes statistics from 1997 - present.
- Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department Resource for information on allergies, communicable diseases, family support centers, food and community safety, domestic violence, and human resources.
- Washington State - county & city data Includes links to information about Washington counties, including collections of general information, as well as a variety of sources dealing specifically with population, the economy, and county government finance
- Washington State Data Book Contains eleven major sections: Population, Economy, State Government Finance, Human Services, Criminal Justice, Education, Natural Resources, Environment, Energy, Transportation, and Local Government.
Global
- Health and Social Care Information Centre: StatisticsCollection of UK health related statistics.
- National Bureau of Asian Research: Center for Health and Aging Coordinates innovative research and dialogue on the demographic, economic, social, political, and medical trends related to health and aging across the globe.
- UNdataSearch and download a variety of statistical resources of the United Nations system.
- World Health Organization: Data & StatisticsIncludes mortality and health status, risk factors, diseases, health systems, and coverage of services.