Statistics Sources: Health Sciences

Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from World Health Organization (WHO). (Formerly WHOSIS: WHO Statistical Information System).

IHME's (Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation) catalog of the world's health and demographic data. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.

Maps, general demographic and statistical information by country. Includes economics, life expectancy, fertility and death rates.

Includes statistics on the numbers and density of health workers for all 193 Member States.

World Health Organization (WHO) database. Provides annual reported data on mortality statistics by age, sex and cause of death.

Each year the report combines an assessment of global health, with a focus on a specific topic such as maternal & child health, health promotion, health system improvement, health systems financing, etc.

Links to graphs and tables of past World Health Reports (WHO). Collected data for most of the world on morbidity and mortality, by age, sex, and cause.

Statistics on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication of 200 countries. Science and technology section includes data on manpower and expenditures for research and development.

(UNICEF) Economic and social statistics, including birth weight, infant mortality and immunization. Country profiles, maps and statistical data for 195 countries and territories.

World population data from United Nations Statistics Division: births, deaths, marriage and divorce, and special topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language.

Kaiser Family Foundation. Maps and tables of global data on HIV/AIDS, TB, malaria and more.

Provides access to various databases containing information on the occurrence of cancer worldwide held and managed by the Section of Cancer Information (CIN) of International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC).

Database of international statistics on human functioning and disability.

Data from health surveys of over 90 countries on population, health, HIV and nutrition. Generate tables, maps, and summary reports from free data. Registration required to request datasets for research purposes.

Statistics on HIV/AIDS, worldwide and by country, from AVERT, international HIV and AIDS charity based in the UK.

View data profiles by country, or view rankings, maps or bar graphs on world topics including environment, health, HIV/AIDS and reproductive health.

Kaiser Family Foundation. Information on U.S. government funding for global health.

Weekly notifications of diseases subject to regulation (yellow fever, cholera, AIDS, etc.). Status reports on major communicable diseases, and reports of epidemiological activities around the world.

Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

HIV/AIDS reports and statistics for selected African countries.

National health survey data. Morbidity, mortality, health conditions, risk factors, and well-being.

Includes environmental health reports and statistics for British Columbia.

Health Statistics reports based on data collected from health facilities. Information on health systems and personnel, as well as inpatient and outpatient morbidity and mortality.

Data on incidence of notifiable (infectious or communicable) conditions in Canada.

Canadian Cancer Society publication containing cancer incidence and mortality in Canada, analyzed by gender, age and province/territory.

Data and reports on health conditions, health system performance, health spending, population health.

Statistics on diseases, disability, health services performance and utilization, health indicators; provided by Canada's national statistical agency.

Private foundation supporting independent research on health and social issues.

International collaborative study aiming to monitor, analyze, and explain survival trends and between-country differences in survival. PubMed search for articles analyzing Eurocare data.

Statistical office of the European Union. Data and publications on topics including public health, environment, population and social conditions.

Includes publications Health Statistics for the Nordic Countries, Nordic/Baltic Health Statistics. Medicines Consumption in Nordic Countries, Report on Mortality Statistics for the Nordic/Baltic Countries, and more.

Datasets for health status, health care resources, utilization, health expenditure and financing, determinants of health, etc. OECDiLibrary.

Provides statistics on health care spending, financing, workforce and health indicators in Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development member countries.

Includes Epidemiologic Bulletin. Brief reports and statistics on disease epidemiology and surveillance, and prevention programs in Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) member countries.

Reports on family planning/reproductive health (FP/RH), gender, gender-based violence (GBV), HIV/AIDS, maternal health, poverty & equity, RAPID, and human rights.