Urban Studies: Getting Started
Research Tips
- Use encyclopedias and handbooks to find background information and educate yourself about possible topics
- Think of all the words and synonyms related to your topic before your begin searching
- Try subject terms that begin with urban or urbanization or city or cities or metropolitan
- Browse database subject lists to generate ideas
- Remember to stop occasionally and assess what you're finding
- Locate some books on the shelves and take time to look at them
- Black Voices on the City: A Resource Guide
Black Voices on the City is a student-organized database that aims to accomplish two things: first, to catalog contributions of Black researchers and practitioners to the field of urban planning, and second, to amplify Black voices in a field that has been overwhelmingly dominated by white, cisgender, heterosexual men since its beginnings.
General Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Puget SoundPublished by the University of Washington’s Puget Sound Institute. Information from state and federal agencies, academic institutions, and Puget Sound area Tribes. Intended as a primary source for synthesized and integrated scientific information on the Puget Sound and greater Salish Sea watersheds.
Encyclopedia of the CityUW Tacoma Library Reference
HT108.5 .E63 2005
Encyclopedia of Urban America : the Cities and SuburbsUW Tacoma Library Reference
HT123 .E5 1998
Subject Specific Encyclopedias
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Available online.
Encyclopedia of American Urban HistoryUW Tacoma Library Reference
HT123 .E49 2007Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Available online.
World Cities
Cities of the Middle East and North Africa : a Historical EncyclopediaUW Tacoma LIbrary Reference
HT147.5 .C58 2007
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the WorldUW Tacoma Library Reference
HT108.5 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of World CitiesUW Tacoma Library Reference
HT108.5 .W47 1999
Have Questions?
Ask your library staff!
Reference Staff are available to answer questions about using the library and finding resources.
Phone: 253-692-4442 (check hours)
| Connect to UW Libraries' real-time, online reference service |