International Marketing: Country Information
Guide to researching products and markets across the globe.
Reference Sources
Country Reports in Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes country reports:
Background Notes - people, history, government, economy, foreign relations, travel & business.
Country Monitor - analyses, statistics, and economic forecasts.
Country Profile - analysis & background on economic & political situation
Country Review - country, politics, economics, investment, society, environment.
Economic Competitiveness - structure ratios for assets, liability, and income; and productivity.
Political Risk Yearbook - country forecast and conditions.
Search Tips:
1. To access country reports, click on Publications in the top menu bar.
2. Enter the name of your country, select BY SUBJECT & DESCRIPTION.
3. Click on the publication title to browse full text by year. Or, to search multiple publications, check the desired titles and click Add. - Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political, social and economic information about countries and world regions. - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowPublications and datasets by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development & affiliated agencies.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Data & reports on consumers, marketing and companies around the world. - World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
More Resources
- Country ResourcesUW Tacoma guide
- International BusinessUW Libraries (Seattle) guide
Websites
- BBC Country Profiles"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives."
- DoingBusiness.org"Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." Be sure to read the "About DoingBusiness..." section listed in the Table of Contents at the beginning of a report. It provides information on the scope and limits of each particular report.
- Export.gov Information by CountryLinks to some African, Middle Eastern and Asian information. If you are looking for Latin American or European countries, click on Trade Information Center Country Database in the middle of the page.
- International Monetary Fund: Country InfoQuick access to World Economic Outlook data such as Real GDP and Consumer Price projections for each country/region.
- International Statistical AgenciesA U.S. Census Bureau compilation of national statistical sites for countries around the world.
- Lex MundiGuides to Doing BusinessIncludes sections on start-up requirements, labor and employment, taxes, import & export regulations, and environmental considerations.
- U.S. Dept. of State Background Notes"Include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty."
- World Bank: Countries & RegionsClick on Data and Statistics for a country data profile and Data-at-a-glance report. The Home page for each country has a Country Brief, National Info, News and Highlights.
- World FactbookCovers history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes regional maps, flags, and country comparisons.