THIST 410 Early American Politics and Law: The American Revolution: Getting Started
Learning about a particular year in history
Chronologies or timelines allow you to peruse the major events of a given year. Below is a selection of timelines availabe in the Reference section of the UW Tacoma Library. If you use these resources, I strongly recommend that you check more than one since there are variations.
United States History timeline by UW Professor Quintard TaylorAvailable online.
Many web-based U.S. history timelines are not very detailed. Dr. Taylor's, however, provides excellent listings of events.
Almanac of American HistoryUW Tacoma Library Reference
E174.5 A45 1983b
American years: Chronologies of American History and ExperienceUW Tacoma Library Reference
E 174.5 G753 v. 1-2
Encyclopedia of American Facts and DatesUW Tacoma Library Reference
E174.5 C3 1987
Encyclopedia of American HistoryUW Tacoma Library Reference
E174.5 E53 1996
Timetables of African American HistoryUW Tacoma Library Reference
E185 H295 1996
Timetables of American HistoryUW Tacoma Library Reference
E18.5 T553 1996
Getting Background Information
Reference sources, such as specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries, can provide helpful background information and context on any topic, and may lead you to other sources and related articles on a topic. Below are just a few examples of reference sources at the UWT Library that may be helpful for this project. Note: These resources are to help you learn about a topic only. Do NOT cite them in your paper.
American National Biography
Available online.
Biographical encyclopedia with articles written by scholars. Only deceased people included
Americans at War: Society, Culture, and the HomefrontAvailable online and in print
UW Tacoma Library Reference
E181 A453 2005 v. 1-4
Covers the U.S. experience of war from colonial times to the presentDictionary of American History
Available online.
Covers all periods of U.S. History.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary WarUW Tacoma Library Reference
E208 .E64 2006 v. 1-5
Presenting the work of hundreds of distinguished international scholars and independent historiansGale Virtual Reference - History
Available online.
More than 100 history specific encyclopedias.Oxford Reference Online
Available online.
More than 70 encyclopedias covering all subjects.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political HistoryAvailable online and in print
UW Tacoma Library Reference
E183 .P85 2010 v. 1-2
Covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today.