- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- United States History
- Primary Sources: 1877-1945
United States History: Primary Sources: 1877-1945
Collections, archives, and databases
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories. This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950
- Asian American Experience This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, covering multiple dimensions of Asian American history and culture.
- Labor and Employment: The American Worker [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new windowThousands of titles on the American workplace, covering the labor rights movement in the 19th century to the workplace of today.
- American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 This link opens in a new windowACLU clippings, correspondence, subject files, case files and administrative documents covering major civil liberties issues of the 20th century.
- American Indians and the American West This link opens in a new windowCollections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. (ProQuest History Vault)
- Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 This link opens in a new windowImmigration & Naturalization Service records covering Asian, Mexican & European immigration. (ProQuest History Vault)
- Queer Pasts This link opens in a new window
Primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources on the transatlantic slave trade, abolitionist movements, institution of slavery in the US and Latin America, and emancipation.
Newspapers and magazines
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new windowNewsweek (1933-2012) and 14 other magazines covering events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 to 2015.
- American Antiquarian Society Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of North American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, covering a wide variety of subject areas including agriculture, fine arts, business, education, history, literature, religion and womens studies.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1836-1922. Also includes a searchable directory of publication information for U.S. newspapers.
- Early American Newspapers Series II This link opens in a new windowCollection of 50+ newspapers dating from 1736-1900 with most covering the period 1820-1860
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new windowFull text of 25 Japanese relocation camp newspapers, 1942 - 1945. (Gale Archives Unbound)
- KKK Newspapers: Hate in America: The Rise and Fall of the Ku Klux Klan in the 1920s This link opens in a new windowLocal, regional, and national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920s; also includes voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital historical newspaper coverage from 1880s to 2000s. Includes Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Afro-American, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Globe & Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, Hindustan Times, Korea Times, LA Sentinel, LA Times, Le Monde, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Spokesman Review, Times of India, Vancouver Sun, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- Territorial Papers of the United States, 1764-1953: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowTerritorial government documents including Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, and land records.
All Centuries
- American MemoryMajor database: Historic photographs, film and other materials from the Library of Congress
- AncestryGenealogical records such as census, immigration & military records
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and DiplomacyDiverse collection of documents dealing with US, international and diplomatic history
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDPLA is a major portal to digitized collections ranging "from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science" that illustrate America’s history & culture
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American HistoryIncludes a database of digitized material as well as exhibits
- North American women's letters and diariesFull-text database of letters and diaries of women who lived in North America before 1950. Browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and full-text elements provided by PhiloLogic software
- U.S. Immigration LawsShort summaries, useful links, and the full text of relevant public laws
- Women and Social Movements in the United StatesPrimary sources dealing with women's history from 1600 to 2000
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowReference content, primary documents, and images illustrating the histories and cultures of North American Native peoples.
- Archival Research Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe National Archives' nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowScholarly and general interest sources and historical newspapers and other primary sources on the Black experience from ancient past to present day.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowNon-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
- Census Reporter This link opens in a new windowFriendly interface for current U.S. Census data, including visualizations, data comparisons, tables, and GIS export.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowFully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowDigitized primary sources covering the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th through the 20th centuries.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowHistory and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
- North American Indian Thought & Culture This link opens in a new windowCompilation of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.