- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- Images
- Images by Subject
Images: Images by Subject
What does this text look like?
Interdisciplinary
|
|
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Reading RoomProvides access to about one million digital images within the collection of the Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Division. Includes architectural and historical images.
- LIFE photo archiveMillions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- World ImagesImages for educational use from the California State University IMAGE project. Includes broad subject coverage, from art and architecture to science and technology, portraits, maps, and the natural world.
Advertising
 Xanti, Parfums Bourjois, 1945. Image source: Ad*Access |
- Ad*AccessAdvertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Digital collection at Duke University.
- The Advertising Archives: Historical & Current Print AdsA searchable collection of print and TV advertisements, magazine covers, cinema posters, comics, postcards, cigarette cards, and more.
- ColoribusOver two million contemporary ads from around the world in all mediums, including print, online, viral, television, and outdoor advertising.
Architecture
|
|
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more. - UW Image Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.
- Cities and Buildings DatabaseBuildings and cities from throughout history and throughout the world. A collection begun by UW professor Meredith L. Clausen for use in the classroom, student study, or individual research purposes.
- Great Buildings CollectionOffered in conjunction with the website for Architectural Week, this collection of images includes 3D Models and blueprints of buildings from all over the world.
Art & Design
|
|
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more. - UW Image Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.
History
|
|
- American Memory ProjectHistorical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
- New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital GalleryOver 337,000 images digitized from primary sources and print rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including photographs on a variety of subjects and covering different time periods.
Maps
|
Pinkerton, World on Mercator's Projector, East, 1812. Image source: David Rumsey |
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionContains images from the more than 250,000 maps in the University of Texas-Austin, covering all areas of the world.
- David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionOver 20,000 historical maps from around the world, with focus on North America and South America.
- Early Washington Maps: A Digital CollectionThis collection contains maps spanning 300 years and documenting many historical events.
Medicine
 May H. Lesser, Biochemistry Lab, 1968. Image source: IHM |
- Images from the History of MedicinePhotography, prints and graphic art from the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Wellcome ImagesOver 40,000 current and historical medical images; topics include medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
Pacific Northwest
|
|
- Washington State Historical Society Images CollectionsHistorical photographs, maps, sheet music,as well as images of artifacts, ephemera, and drawings from the collections of the Washington State Historical Society.
- Seattle Municipal Archives Photograph CollectionPhotographs dating from the 1880s to the present of public works projects, events, sites, facilities, and elected officials in Seattle.
- UW Digital CollectionsPhotographs, documents, and audiovisual resources from the UW Libraries, UW faculty and departments, and from UW collaborators.
Photography
|
|
>- Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
- International Center of PhotographyHistorical photography collections from the International Center of Photography, New York, including works by Wegee, Robert Capa, and Richard Avedon.
Science
 Hoodoos in Crater Lake National Park, Oregon. Image Source: Earth Science World |
- Earth Science WorldAmerican Geological Institute's collection of archaeological, geological, environmental, geophysical, and other images. Also includes plants, animals, and weather and satellite images.
- U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service National Digital LibraryCollection of over 6,000 nature and wildlife photos provided by the U.s. Fish & Wildlife Service. Includes birds, plants, habitats, environmental sciences, wildlife refuges, and more.
Tacoma
|
|
- Tacoma-Pierce County Building IndexA comprehensive index of home and building construction news in Tacoma newspapers from 1883 through 1941 created by the Tacoma Public Library; includes thumbnail images of certain buildings.
- Tacoma Public Library Image ArchivesA database containing over 40,000 images from the holdings of the the Tacoma Public Library Northwest Room, covering 1888 to the present day.