Library Guides: Images: Images from UW Libraries

Image Databases Available from the UW Libraries

The UW Libraries provides access to the following image databases and collections. Please log in for off-campus access to UW restricted resources.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.

UW Digital Collections
Photographs, documents, and audiovisual resources from the UW Libraries, UW faculty and departments, and from UW collaborators.

UW Image Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.

UW Special Collections: Pictorial and Graphics Collections
Photographs and graphics section encompasses a variety of research materials, including photographs, architectural plans, postcards, historical maps, artwork and ephemera, most of which are related to various aspects of the Pacific Northwest, its history, geography, arts, and industries.

How can I use UW restricted images?

Images in UW restricted databases have some restrictions on use.

Typically, images can be used for:

student papers
student presentations or multimedia projects
faculty classroom presentations
course online environments restricted to UW only

Without additional permission from the vendor, images cannot be used for:

open webites or projects posted to the open web
commercial or for-profit products or projects
faculty publications
print brochures for public distribution

Each image database has slightly different use requirements. Please read each databases's conditions-for-use statement if you are not sure if your use would be acceptable.

The UW Libraries subscribes to these image databases, and the vendors place restrictions on use of the images. Please see the Citation & Copyright page for more information about electronic resources and copyright.

Please see the Open Access page if you need images for use on the open web or other purposes.