Pacific Northwest History: Washington
J.W. Thompson, Men, women and fishing gear on the Quileute Indian Reservation (1950). From MOHAI via UW Libraries Digital Collections.
Newspapers & Magazines
Washington State or Territorial Newspapers
- Chronicling America: WashingtonSmall collection of papers from the late 19th century and early 10th. Includes the Tacoma Times, 1903-1918.
- Washington Digital NewspapersWashington Digital Newspapers brings together over 600,000 pages from Washington’s earliest Territorial newspapers to the present day. Freely accessible to the public, this growing collection complements the Washington State Library’s physical collection of more than 6,500 newspaper titles.
- News Tribune (Tacoma)1889 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle Post-IntelligencerNewspaper page images for Dec 1901-1985 and text only for 1986-present.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982.
- Los Angeles TimesFull image version from 1881 -1987.
- New York TimesFull image version from 1851-2007.
- Wall Street JournalFull image version from 1889-1993.
Looking for Tacoma?
Check out the Tacoma page for more primary sources about the city.
Image of Chief Robert Satiacum of the Puyallup Tribe of Indians waving during the Tacoma Centennial Parade in 1969 via the Northwest Room.
Digital Collections & Online Resources
- Plateau Peoples' Portal
The Plateau Peoples' Web Portal is a collaboration between the Spokan Tribe of Indians, the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, the Coeur d'Alene Tribe, the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, the Nimíipuu (Nez Perce) Tribe, and the Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation at Washington State University. - Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest: Curriculum MaterialsCurricular "packets" of primary source materials designed to supplement courses in the history of Washington and the Pacific Northwest.
The links below will only access digital materials; there are many more primary sources available in mircoform or print that can be accessed through the UW Libraries Catalog.
- CWU Digital CollectionsFocuses on the history of CWU and Ellensburg.
- Early Washington MapsDigital maps that document the exploration, surveying, and development of Washington state.
- Great Depression in Washington StateA multimedia website that explores this important decade in state history. One of the collections of the Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights Projects based at the UW Seattle.
- King County SnapshotsOver 12,000 images that portray people, places, and events in the county's urban, suburban, and rural communities.
- Museum of History and IndustryCollects, preserves and presents the rich history of the Pacific Northwest.
- Pacific Northwest Olympic Peninsula Community MuseumOver 12,000 images and artifacts from the history of the Olympic Peninsula.
- Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History ProjectMulti-media web site with video oral histories, photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies pertaining to civil rights history in Seattle.
- Seattle Public Library Culture & Local HistoryBrowse items from the Seattle Room through our Special Collections Online. Explore the history of the city through postcards, photographs, periodicals, maps, menus and more.
- Tacoma Public Library Northwest RoomDigital images, information, and collections on the exploration, growth and development of Tacoma and the Puget Sound Region.
- Washington HistoryAccess to historical records, newspapers, classic texts, etc. in Washington state history.
- Washington Rural HeritageA collection of historic materials documenting the early culture, industry, and community life of Washington State. The collection is a project of small, rural libraries and cultural institutions throughout Washington, in partnership with the Washington State Library.
- Washington State Digital ArchivesGenealogical records, photographs, government reports, etc.
- Washington Women's History ConsortiumDedicated to preserving and making available resources about Washington women's history.
- WSU Digital CollectionsMaps, photographs, news clippings and more with a focus on eastern Washington.
- Yakima MemoryMore than 10,000 images of the historic Yakima area.