- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- Pacific Northwest History
- Primary Sources: Alaska
Pacific Northwest History: Primary Sources: Alaska
Digital Collections & Online Resources
- Alaska & Polar Regions Digital Collections & ExhibitsCollection from the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Includes photographs, oral histories, and maps.
The links below will only access digital materials; there are many more primary sources available in mircoform or print that can be accessed through the UW Libraries Catalog
- Alaska Newspapers on microfilm, 1866-1998Search through Alaskan Newspapers Collections, a part of the Alaska Newspaper Project.
- Alaska, Western Canada and United States CollectionA digital collection of historic photographs documenting the geographic area of Alaska, Western United States and the Canadian provinces of Yukon Territory and British Columbia.
- Alaskan Russian Church archives: records, 1733-1938Microfilm collection, 376 reels, MicNews A8220
- Eric A. Hegg Photographs of Alaska and the Klondike, 1897-1901Photographs from 1897-1901, documenting the Klondike and Alaska gold rushes.
- Gold Rush Centennial Photographs 1893 - 1916Photos of life in the Klondike during the gold rush, from the collection at the Alaska State Library
- John E. Thwaites Photograph CollectionThis digital collection consists of 396 digital images chosen from a group of approximately 1300 photographic prints. Image dates from 1905 to 1912.
- Klondike Nugget IndexIndex to newspapers covering the years 1893-1903.
- Alaska Digital ArchivesHistorical photographs, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials about the history of Alaska.
- Alaska Historical Collections at Alaska State LibrarySearch through numerous online collections of photographs, manuscripts, maps, and more.
- Anchorage Daily Times 1917-1982Microfilm collection, MicNews A3619 & A6043.
- Frank H. Nowell Photographs of Alaska, 1901-1909Photos take in 1901-1909 in Nome, Alaska.
Featured Books
Polar Imperative: a History of Arctic Sovereignty in North AmericaUW Tacoma Library Stacks
F1090.5 .G73 2010
Alaska: a History of the 49th State Available online.
