Pacific Northwest History: Primary Sources: Washington

Small collection of papers from the late 19th century and early 10th. Includes the Tacoma Times, 1903-1918.

Washington Digital Newspapers brings together over 600,000 pages from Washington’s earliest Territorial newspapers to the present day. Freely accessible to the public, this growing collection complements the Washington State Library’s physical collection of more than 6,500 newspaper titles.

1889 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.

Newspaper page images for Dec 1901-1985 and text only for 1986-present.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.

The Plateau Peoples' Web Portal is a collaboration between the Spokan Tribe of Indians, the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, the Coeur d'Alene Tribe, the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, the Nimíipuu (Nez Perce) Tribe, and the Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation at Washington State University.

Curricular "packets" of primary source materials designed to supplement courses in the history of Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Focuses on the history of CWU and Ellensburg.

Digital maps that document the exploration, surveying, and development of Washington state.

A multimedia website that explores this important decade in state history. One of the collections of the Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights Projects based at the UW Seattle.

Over 12,000 images that portray people, places, and events in the county's urban, suburban, and rural communities.

Collects, preserves and presents the rich history of the Pacific Northwest.

Over 12,000 images and artifacts from the history of the Olympic Peninsula.

Multi-media web site with video oral histories, photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies pertaining to civil rights history in Seattle.

Browse items from the Seattle Room through our Special Collections Online. Explore the history of the city through postcards, photographs, periodicals, maps, menus and more.

Digital images, information, and collections on the exploration, growth and development of Tacoma and the Puget Sound Region.

Access to historical records, newspapers, classic texts, etc. in Washington state history.

A collection of historic materials documenting the early culture, industry, and community life of Washington State. The collection is a project of small, rural libraries and cultural institutions throughout Washington, in partnership with the Washington State Library.

Genealogical records, photographs, government reports, etc.

Dedicated to preserving and making available resources about Washington women's history.

Maps, photographs, news clippings and more with a focus on eastern Washington.

More than 10,000 images of the historic Yakima area.