Literature Reviews: Research Your Topic

• Identify your initial Search Terms.

• Use the basic concepts related to your topic and their synonyms for your search terms.

• Refine your search.

• Use the Advanced Search option found in the research databases you've identified to limit by date, scholarly journals,
• Use Boolean operators to target relevant sources.

• Make a Record of your search.

• Use your research log to track the information you collect.
• Use the "Save Search" options offered with the databases you use for your research.
• Use a citation management system to track your sources.

Organizing and keeping track of your research is a critical component of efficiently conducting a literature review. To avoid frustration keeping a research log is highly recommended for research management. Use it to:

• Record your search terms.               
• Track your database searches.
  
• Manage your citations.
  
• Avoid plagiarism.
  

Example:

Research Log (UVM)

Because a literature review relies heavily on the work of others the importance of accurate citations cannot be emphasized enough.

Research Guides provide links to the databases and materials recommended for your field of study.

• Navigate to the relevant guide and then select the Find Articles tab. You will find links to recommended databases for your field here.
• Read the descriptions provided with the database link summarizing the materials you will find there - Journal articles? Abstracts only? Chapters from books? News reports?
• After selecting a database use your Search Terms in the Advanced Search fields to locate your sources.

Developing search terms is the key to creating effective and efficient use of the databases. The following is a research strategy example developed by Kent State University

There are numerous online resources pertaining to developing effective research strategies. Review a few of the resources below to help you create your own research strategy.

Literature Search Tips - (University of Lancashire)

Creating a Search Strategy (University at Buffalo Libraries)

Search Strategies and Heuristics (Creighton University)

Research Strategies (Baltimore County Public Schools)