Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Encyclopedias & Other Reference Resources
Suzzallo Library has many reference resources--specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies--devoted to the topics of American literature, history, and culture. These resources provide background information on authors, literary movements and important events in American history. Articles contain bibliographies which help identify additional information. Use the appropriate call number (PS for literature, E for history) to locate print encyclopedias in Suzzallo Reference.
Cambridge History of American Literature
8 volume history of American literature covering 1590 - 1995.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
This award-winning Encyclopedia surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, covering American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. The Encyclopedia's articles offer historical perspective and social context.
Oxford Companion to American Literature
350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. Includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
Oxford Companion to U.S. History
1,400 articles on America's political, diplomatic, and military history; social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism
This single volume text provides accessible quick reference to authors and movements normally associated with the literary modernist movement. IN: Suzzallo Reference, PN56.M54 E53 2003.