Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries Operations Updates
Other English-Language Dictionaries
Macquarie Dictionary - PE1625 .M26 2005
"Since its first publication, in 1981, it has been progressively adopted by Australian schools, businesses and courts as their standard dictionary. The second edition was published in 1991 and it introduced encyclopedic content to many entries. The third edition, published in 1997, made use of an inhouse corpus of Australian writing, Ozcorp, to add a large number of examples of Australian usage, in a style reminiscent of the original Oxford English Dictionary. The fourth edition, published in 2005, increases the number of citations, includes etymologies for many phrases and pays particular attention to Australian regionalisms (Wikipedia)."
Canadian Oxford Dictionary
The dictionary combines coverage of international English with information on English as it is particularly used in Canada. Definitions are presented so that the meaning most familiar to Canadians appears first and foremost. It features 2,200 uniquely Canadian words and senses, 350 usage notes, 7,000 idiomatic expressions, 5,500 biographical entries, and over 5,600 place names.
Guide to Canadian English Usage
PE3235 .F44 2007
New Zealand Oxford Dictionary
This dictionary is the first large-scale English dictionary especially prepared for New Zealand users. Compiled at the New Zealand Dictionary Centre in Wellington, it reflects research into New Zealand words and their use, including new words, and new uses of older words that have evolved in New Zealand. It contains over 100,000 definitions, including over 12,000 New Zealand entries.
Dictionary of New Zealand English: A Dictionary of New Zealandisms on Historical Principles
PE3602.Z5 D53 1997
Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English
PE3721 .P323 2009
Dictionary of American Slang
PE2846 .D457 2007
Random House Historical Dictionary of American Slang
PE 2846 .H57 1994
Hatchet Jobs and Hardball: The Oxford Dictionary of American Political Slang
PE3727.P6 H38 2004
Green's dictionary of slang
A collection of this often reviled but endlessly fascinating area of the English language, these volumes cover slang from the past five centuries right up to the present day, from all the different English-speaking countries and regions.
Cassell's Dictionary of Slang
PE3721 .G74 2005
Macquarie Australian Slang Dictionary: Complete & Unabridged
PE3601.Z5 M32 2004
Oxford Dictionary of Slang
PE3721 .O95 1998