Skip to Main Content
All UW Libraries are CLOSED but online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
General Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Guides to Research
Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature by
Publication Date: 1997
A guide to reference literature covering all areas of Western and Eastern philosophy, emphasizing recent English-language publications but including some older and foreign-language sources.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2005
"The most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day."
Subject-Specific Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Biographical Encyclopaedia of Islamic Philosophy
"Biographical entries include all the major thinkers of Islamic philosophy since the foundation of the faith, as well as minor but significant figures, many of which have not previously been profiled or described in English. Every major school of thought, from classical falasifa to Sufi mysticism, is represented, and entries range across time from the early years of the faith to the modern period."
Cambridge Histories of Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Philosophy in the Nineteenth Century (1790–1870)
The Cambridge History of Eighteenth-Century Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Hellenistic Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Jewish Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Later Greek and Early Medieval Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Later Medieval Philosophy
The Cambridge World History of Medical Ethics
The Cambridge History of Medieval Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Philosophy 1870–1945
The Cambridge History of Philosophy in Late Antiquity
The Cambridge History of Renaissance Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Seventeenth-Century Philosophy
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy
The first comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy in Britain. In addition to biographical entries on the lives and works of individual thinkers, it incorporates major historical surveys of the core philosophical topics, mini factual entries to facilitate reference, and detailed entries on themes, movements, institutions, journals, influences and theories through the ages.
Dictionary of Early American Philosophers (Oxford UP)
Contains over 450 entries by nearly 300 authors, provides an account of philosophical thought in the United States and Canada between 1600 and 1860.
Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers (Oxford UP)
Both academic and non-academic philosophers are represented, as are a large number of female and minority thinkers whose work has been neglected. It includes those intellectuals involved in the development of psychology, pedagogy, sociology, anthropology, education, theology, political science, and several other fields, before these disciplines came to be considered distinct from philosophy in the late nineteenth century.
Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century German Philosophers (Oxford UP)
"In addition to the well-known German philosophers of that era—for instance, Immanuel Kant, Friedrich Hegel, and George Wilhelm—the Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century German Philosophers provides rare insight into the lives and minds of lesser-known individuals who influenced the shape of philosophy."
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (Oxford UP)
The first reference work to survey the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. This Encyclopedia features 600 articles on the major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses and value of all the arts.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies
This site contains a bibliography of the philosophical literature of India during its classical phase and the secondary material on this literature that is available (for the most part) in English.
The Encyclopedia of Political Thought
Contains over 900 A-Z entries on the most significant political thinkers, theories, concepts, ideas, and schools of thought. Available online or as an eight-volume print set, the Encyclopedia examines the history of political thought, contemporary political theory, and political philosophy.
Foucault: A Very Short Introduction
Brief book providing introduction to Foucault; available in print and online
Ideas that Matter: The Concepts that Shape the 21st Century
Ideas can, and do, change the world. Just as Marxism, existentialism, and feminism shaped the last century, so fundamentalism, globalization, and bioethics are transforming our world now. In Ideas that Matter, renowned philosopher A.C. Grayling provides a personal dictionary of the ideas that will shape our world in the decades to come.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others.