Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- British Literature
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
British Literature: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Oxford English DictionaryThe primary dictionary for the study of the English language.
- Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsIncludes 1,200 terms on drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as bibliographies of recommended reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms.
- Year's Work in English StudiesThe qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Standard biographical dictionary for British in all fields, only deceased are included. (Access limited to 1 simultaneous user.) - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Renowned book series on history, language, literature and more. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Research Guides
- Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary StudiesJames Harner's annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.
- Literary Research: Strategies & SourcesEach guide features research strategies and recommends the best tools for conducting specialized period and national literary research.
- Handbook to Literary Research(Delia da Sousa Correa and W.R. Owens): PN73 .H36 2010