Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Researching Seattle
- Business, Industry & Labor
Researching Seattle: Business, Industry & Labor
Sources for research into Seattle and the surrounding area
Selected Books on Business, Industry & Labor
Business & Industry Resources
For more information on local business and industry check out the resources listed on the Business Research Guide.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines; search for articles on local business - International Directory of Company Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Concise histories of over 8,500 companies; search for local companies - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive information on U.S. and international public companies, including financials, stock, properties, and SEC filings. - ProQuest Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Concise histories of over 8,500 companies; search for local companies
Archival collections
Additional archival collections can be found in Special Collections located in the basement of Allen Library south. Search their Collection Guides to identify other collections related to local business, industry & labor. Also search the Archives of the Museum of History & Industry.
The following collections, mostly historic photographs, have been digitized.
Major Seattle Area Company Profiles
- International Directory of Company Histories Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- Mergent Online Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- Historic Annual Reports 1997-2006
- This link opens in a new window
- International Directory of Company Histories Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- Mergent Online Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- International Directory of Company Histories Profle
- This link opens in a new window
- Mergent Online Profle
- This link opens in a new window
- International Directory of Company Histories Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- Mergent Online Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- International Directory of Company Histories Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- Mergent Online Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- International Directory of Company Histories Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- Mergent Online Profile
- This link opens in a new window
- Historic Annual Reports 1995-2004
- This link opens in a new window
Local Business Information
- Northwest Historical Annual ReportsAnnual financial reports (1930s - 1990s) for Pacific Northwest companies.
- Puget Sound Business Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Seattle-area business news and annual rankings. - City of Seattle: Business & Economic DevelopmentInformation for those planning to start a business
- King County ProfileWashington State Employment Security Department profile provides current employment statistics & info