Skip to main content

Research Guides

Labor Archives of Washington: Home

LAW contains records from individuals and organizations that document the local, national and international dimensions of the labor movement in the Pacific Northwest.

Search for Archival / Manuscript Materials

Our Collection Guides search tool has migrated to Archives West.

What's in this Guide

The Labor Archives of Washington (LAW) was founded to preserve the records of working people and their unions and to serve as a center for historical research, ensuring that new generations have access to the rich labor history of the region. For more information about LAW visit the website.

The Labor Archives contains more than 300 separate collections of labor related materials from individuals and organizations documenting the local, national and international dimensions of the labor movement in the Pacific Northwest. 

Many unions have made the Labor Archives the official repository for their historical records -- minutes, office correspondence, membership files, publications and contracts.

Labor leaders, attorneys, arbitrators, and rank-and-file workers, and labor rights supporters have donated their personal papers.

Records from organizations that supported organized labor, worker's rights, and civil rights and also records from labor critics and opponents. Also included are records of employers, some of which were the collective bargaining partners--and sometimes opponents--of unions.

Selected resources and research tips for labor history researchers and those interested in ethnic, social, local, political, and women's history.

Donating Items to the Labor Archives

Our current collecting focus is labor organizations, labor union members and officers, and workers in the Pacific Northwest. Organizational donors may have a statewide, regional, or even a national mission, but usually have a strong tie with the local area as well.

Consult Conor Casey (206.685.3976 or cmcasey@uw.edu) for donating labor-related organizational records or personal papers.

Related Links and Guides

Profile

Conor Casey's picture
Conor Casey
Contact:
Conor M. Casey, Labor Archivist

Libraries Special Collections

Labor Archives of Washington

Mail: Box 352900, Seattle, WA 98133-2900

Allen Library South, Basement/B81D

206.685.3976 fax 206.543.1931
206.685.3976
Website / Blog Page

LAW Facebook Feed

Loading