Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Taiwan eBook Database
The database will ensure that these publications in libraries throughout Taiwan can be shared with the world in digital format and even become an important hub for Taiwan studies internationally. It can effect increased research on Taiwan abroad, promote scholarly exchange, and widen the academic influence of Taiwan studies.
Taiwan wenxian congkan ziliaoku 臺灣文獻叢刊資料庫 ["Taiwan Documents Collection" Database]
Full-text searchable digital version of a set of books of the same name originally published between 1957 and 1972, comprising 309 works on Taiwanese geography, history, customs, and various humanities fields, as well as a companion index volume. The database additionally includes a range of local gazetteers on Taiwanese locales. Produced by the Institute of Taiwan History, Academia Sinica.
Bibliography of Taiwan Ethnographies
Aims to list every book based (in whole or part) on ethnographic research in Taiwan. It is an ongoing project so please check back regularly. Currently the bibliography is limited to English language texts, but that may change later on.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Enter keywords in the search box at the top ("Search Library of Congress Subject Headings") to find relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings. Then from the UW Library home page, select Advanced Search then Browse Search. Choose "Browse by - Subject" in the drop-down menu. Enter your Library of Congress Subject Heading to browse publications relating to this subject. Try multiple subject headings: some headings are similar or overlapping.
Or, do a keyword search in the UW catalog, click on a book or journal that matches your needs, then click on relevant subjects listed under "LCSH and PCI subjects" to find publications on similar topics.
Library of Congress Classification (call numbers)
Click on a relevant category to open a PDF file with more detailed call number breakdowns. Look for the call number ranges of fields of interest (e.g. Chinese literature - collections: PL2450-2659). Then from the UW Library home page, select Advanced Search then Browse Search. Choose "Browse by - Library of Congress call numbers" in the drop-down menu. Enter a call number from your selected range. Use the arrows in the bottom right corner to browse forwards or backwards. This allows you to virtually browse the shelves of not just the library stacks, but auxiliary storage locations also.
Or, identify call numbers of interest through keyword searches in the UW or Worldcat catalogs, and browse the UW catalog using the same method.