ENGL 198 / AIS 102: Interdisciplinary Writing/American Indian Studies: Find Articles & eJournals

What is a database? A database is a collection of digitized information (files, documents, records, articles, etc.) organized (tagged) to be easily accessed, managed, searched, and updated. You can used the tags linked to articles to include in the open-access glossary.

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects. Listed in the boxes below are some selected database starting points for finding articles on topics in Native Americans.

Tips:

• AND returns results with both terms:  Native Americans AND treaties
  
  Makah AND fishing rights
   
• OR returns results with either term:  American Indians OR Native Americans OR Indigenous
  Good for use with related terms or synonyms
   
• Placing terms in parentheses ( ) indicates separate concepts, like an equation, (A or B) and C
  treaties AND ( American Indians OR Native Americans OR First Nations )
   
• Placing two or more words in quotation marks " " returns results using that specific phrase
  "American Indians"
   
• Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending
  cultur* [finds culture, cultured, cultures, culturally ...]
   
• Many databases allow you to download, email, or print articles.
   
• Some have built-in citation tools that will place articles found in proper citing style format (APA, MLA, Chicago, AP).
   

Note:  some databases use different truncation symbols (* is most common; others include !, $,

The following are recommended starting points for finding articles. Use these tools to locate citations (and sometimes full text) for  articles and other materials. The above search tips and the videos located to the right will aid you in utilizing the search tools listed below.

- databases with this icon are accessible remotely (from off-campus) by UWNetID only.

  - databases with this icon are accessible remotely by UWNetID only.