Library Guides: MEDEX: Advanced Research Techniques: Home

Questions about library resources?

Chat with a librarian 24/7 or email for more in-depth questions.

1. Develop Your Search Strategy

See HSL Systematic Reviews Guide, Develop Search Strategy Tab
Select journal databases to search:
- Default databases to search: PubMed , Cinahl Plus
- Depending on topic, additional specialty databases: Embase, PsycInfo, Global Health Database, and multidisciplinary databases such as Web of Science. See Toolkits on HSL website for additional databases, and visit the UW Libraries research guides for key resources in Chemistry, Environment, Sciences, and other areas.
Databases for non-journal literature: see Grey Literature Sources

2. Search using combination of indexing terms and keywords

Use database features, e.g. filters, indexing terms, to maximize search retrieval
Search example and tips for searching effectively and combining concepts
For more information see the PubMed at the UW Guide

3. Document/Save your search strategy using History or MyNCBI

Copy or save exact search strategy (use PubMed Advanced Search/History page)
Database Saved Search Feature, e.g. MyNCBI in PubMed
MyNCBI, your personal space on the NLM computer, allows you to 1) save and store PubMed searches; 2) create email alerts and search filters; and 3) set preferences to personalize displays and show UW online article links.

4. Organize, annotate, and format paper or thesis bibliographies using Citation Management Software

5. Contact a HSL Librarian for assistance

Short video showing how to access full text journal articles.

Order Article Scans or Books
Order pdf scans of articles from journals not available online. Free of charge for UW students, staff and faculty.
If you do not already have an account, clicking the Your ILL Account link will set one up.