MEDEX: Introduction to the Health Sciences Library
Questions about library resources?
Chat with a librarian 24/7 or email for more in-depth questions.
Library Orientation on July 3, 2024
- Presentation Recording1 hour and 2 minutes video on Google Drive. Closed Caption text file.
- What's NewGuide to new resources via the UW Libraries. This is where Epocrates would be listed if we are able to add it.
Find Resources - Primary Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database. Over 33 million resources on biomedicine and related topics
- EMBASE This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, high quality biomedical database. Additional strengths in finding drugs and device information. Includes more international and conference resources
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowHighest quality systematic review resource in medicine and health sciences. Additionally, searchable for clinical trials and more
Find Resources - Further Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowPremier Nursing database. Includes Evidence-Based Care sheets and more
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Transdisciplinary resources with primary focus on STEM disciplines
Access Resources
- Off-campus access to the libraryOn the HSL website, simply click on the resource you want and you will be prompted for your UW NetID when it is needed. More information, including the HuskyOnNet option, at the link above.
- Search the UW Libraries catalogSearch for eBooks, articles, and other media in the UW Libraries catalog.
- Get full text of an articleAll of our databases provide links to the full text of an article or a way to order the article.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest article scans for journals that don't have online access. Seattle students can also request books from our partner libraries.
- Google Scholar ButtonAccess more full-text resources using Google Scholar button
Citation Management and Writing Help
Citation management software allows you to store and organize article references. Each has a Word or Google Docs plug-in to help you easily cite resources for papers, manuscripts and more.
- Selecting a Citation ManagerGuide to selecting a citation manager.
Other writing resources:
- AMA Citation Writing GuideIncludes AMA Writing Manual and more
- Odegaard Writing CenterLibrary-supported writing assistance with online and in-person appointments
Research Methods Resources
- SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies. Expanded trial access to additional modules ends June 30, 2025.