Public Health & Research Services Librarian
Mentoring Resources
- ITHS Mentorship ToolsMultiple resources on selecting and working with mentors available through the ITHS (Institute of Translational Health Sciences) online learning center.
- Optimizing the Practice of Mentoring: An Online Curriculum for the Professional Development of Research MentorsFree, online professional development course to prepare faculty to be effective research mentors. Self-guided course, 90-120 minutes in length. Developed by University of Minnesota CTSI.
- Interdisciplinary Mentoring in Science: Strategies for SuccessElectronic book by Ofelia Olivero (2014).
Voluntary Research Networking
Create and Search Professional Profiles
ResearcherID
ResearcherID from Thomson Reuters lets any author build a profile and add it to a searchable database.
- Search for your publications in Web of Science or import them from EndNote.
- Add keywords to describe your research interests and expertise.
- Add your ORCID (researcher ID) if desired.
- Generate citation metrics for your publications.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar offers a tool to create a free Scholar Profile.
- List your publications and describe your areas of expertise.
- Include your position and email if desired.
- Receive updates when your papers are cited.
- When someone searches for your name on Google Scholar, your Scholar Profile will be the top result.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a free networking site open to all scientists.
- Create a free profile and list your publications.
- Describe your areas of expertise.
- Add your ORCID (researcher ID) if desired.
- Participate in discussion forums.
- Get statistics on how frequently other people view or download your publications.
Institutional Research Networking Resource
DIRECT2Experts
- Interface for searching institutional research networking databases from over 70 institutions.
- Type an area of expertise and connect to faculty profiles that include appointments, publications, research interests, and grants.
Find Authors by Their Institution or Location
Author Affiliation Searches
PubMed
Search the biomedical literature in PubMed for authors' institutions or location in the [AD], or Author Affiliation (Address), field.
Find people in a particular location who have published on the topic you're interested in.
Note: Prior to October 2013, only the first author's address is searchable. For records added since October 2013, ALL author addresses from the front page of the article are searchable.
"Pancreatic Neoplasms"[Mesh] AND seattle[AD]
Proteomics AND "university of washington"[AD]
Web of Science
To find author affiliations in the multidisciplinary database Web of Science, search the "Address" field.
From the "Basic Search" screen, search for your topic. Then "Add Another Field" and choose "Address" from the drop-down menu.
Team Science
- Enhancing the Effectiveness of Team Science (2015)Free National Resource Council ebook.
- Collaboration and Team Science: A Field Guide, 2nd ed. (2018)Published by the National Cancer Institute
- Thriving in an Era of Team ScienceFree ebook published by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.
- Team Science ToolkitResources to support, facilitate, study, or evaluate team science initiatives. Searchable database of articles, reports, instruments, measures, guidelines, etc. (National Cancer Institute's Science of Team Science)
