SPH ENVH 583 : Environmental Health Reading

Generally, literature is 

• Journal articles 
  • New work (e.g. Randomized Controlled Trials, Clinical Trials, etc.) 
  • Reviews (e.g. Scoping Review, Systematic Review, etc.)
  • Editorials
• Books 
  • Textbooks, 
  • Handbooks, 
  • Trade books, 
  • Compilations of papers (edited), 
  • Encyclopedias 
  • Available from many sources:
    • UW Libraries Search 
    • WorldCat Local 
    • Google Books 

Evidence Hierarchy

Alternative Text for Evidence Hierarchy Image 

Pictured above is a triangle with the bottom layer the biggest and top layer the smallest organized into two groupings. Layers listed top to bottom: 

1. Grouping 1: Filtered Information: 
   1. Systematic Reviews (smallest layer)
   2. Critically-appraised topics (evidence syntheses and guidelines) 
   3. Critically-appraised individual articles (article synopses) 
2. Grouping 2: Unfiltered Information: 
   1. Randomized Controlled Trials (RCTs) 
   2. Cohort studies 
   3. Case-controlled studies case series / reports 
   4. Background information / expert opinion (largest layer)

Source: Turner, M. (n.d.). UC Library Guides: Evidence-Based Practice in Health: Hierarchy of Evidence. Retrieved April 7, 2021, from https://canberra.libguides.com/c.php?g=599346&p=4149721 

About the Evidence Hierarchy 

Learn more about how to use the evidence hierarchy.

Generally, gray literature is anything found outside of scholarly literature. It includes the following. 

• Conference abstracts, papers, and proceedings 
• Government reports 
• Pre-prints 
• Learn more 

Why read the literature?

Scientists and researchers read the literature to 

• Minimizes your chance of re-inventing the wheel
• Gives you ideas about how to solve your problem – or perhaps what won’t work
• Gives you a lingua franca for speaking to other researchers
• Keeps you up-to-date (science evolves rapidly) 

Why isn't it easier to read the literature?

• Journals have limited space creating a terse presentation
• Science attracts those who opted out of ‘writing’ classes!
• Writing clearly about nuanced topics is difficult 
• It's research because we don't know the answers yet!
  • Figuring out how it all fits together is a messy process

Most databases have a search alert function that allows you to stay current with topics of interest to you. Here are a few guides to setting up search alerts, but please note that more than just these databases have this function:

• Read by QxMD
  Browse medical & scientific articles according to your selected specialty areas. Follow individual journal titles or search PubMed. Select UW as your institutional affiliation in Settings to access full text. Example Collection from 2 Minute Medicine on Public Health from Read by QxMD:
  

Evaluating information guides

Some examples of how to evaluate information: 

• Data & statistics, use the SMART method 
• Scholarly info, use the TRAAP method
• News sources, use the SMART method
• Web sources, use the 5Ws method
• Social media, use the SIFT method

Basic guidelines:

• Use a Citation Manager from the start of your research 
• Search at least three databases
• See the Writer's Guide 
• Write for your audience
  • Closely review the Author Guidelines for the journal to which you would like to submit and read others' work in that journal 
  • Closely review the syllabus and assignment instructions for an assigned research project 
  • Consider the intended audience(s) and write for their skill and knowledge level 
• Work with the Odegaard Writing & Research Center (OWRC)
  • They will meet with you to work on editing your paper together so you can take these skills with you to your next writing assignment or publication!

Reading

Writing

Citations

Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity (OMA&D)

Publishing

Design & Visualization

Journal Club

Part of this page's content was adapted from Ken Rice and Lianne Sheppard.